Mon | Oct 22, 2018

Total trifecta looms

Published:Sunday | September 21, 2014 | 12:00 AM
Charles Chen, Jamaica Race Drivers' Club president. - Contributed
Vivian Mitchell, one of the outstanding drivers poised to take a debut title at Dover Raceway. - File
Team Total, lead by captain David Summerbell, followed by Andre Anderson and Kyle Gregg, on the Dover track earlier this year. - Photo by Errol Crosby
The Total team of David Summerbell Jr (left), Kyle Gregg (centre) and Andre Anderson. - File

Glenroy Sinclair, Gleaner Writer

With one race meet remaining in the 2014 circuit racing championship at the Dover Raceway, St Ann, the Total Lubricants team is poised to make a clean sweep of the top three places.

The Jamaica Race Drivers' Club (JRDC) points standings show Team Total drivers Andre Anderson (94), Kyle Gregg (80) and David Summerbell (76) all clear of Kishmore Williams, who is four points behind Summerbell.

There is also an injection of fresh blood. "Some new faces will be winning class titles for the first time this year. Come next year, there will be more new faces and I am expecting a shake-up in the Driver of the Year championship," said Charles Chen, president of the JRDC.

While there had been several complaints about new rules implemented earlier this year, Chen stressed that he is not aware of any competitor being put at a disadvantage because of the regulations. However, he said the JRDC will be reviewing the rules and meeting with the drivers. If an amendment needs to be made, it will be done.

In congratulating the David Summerbell-led Total Team on its strong showing so far this year, Andrea Stephenson, marketing/Tomcard agent at Total Lubricants, said, "As sponsors, it is good to be associated with the best team in the region, a team which has been establishing and breaking its own records."

She went on to explain that Total is not just into the business of competitive racing, but also promotes road safety in Jamaica. "We are also sponsors of the Improved Production 45 Class (IP45), in which regular street car drivers are invited to come and race at Dover and not on the road," said Stephenson.

Although he seems to have victory wrapped up, Anderson is being cautious. He said, "I just need to compete and finish in all my races, to improve my chances of retaining both titles I won last year."

Father-son partnership

The holder of a first degree in Automotive Technology, who single-handedly rebuilt the engine of his Mitsubishi Milex, young Anderson has partnered with his father Ferdinand. Together, they have been working rigorously to keep the turbocharged car on the track.

"After this, I will sit with the team and look at the plans for next year. But for sure, I am looking forward to more racing," Anderson told Automotives on Friday.

Total Team leader, David Summerbell, attributes the success to the sponsor, Total Lubricants.

Although they are not part of his team, Summerbell singled out drivers Kishmore Williams and Vivian Mitchell, saying their performances this year augur well for the future of the sport. Both drivers are set to win class titles for the first time.

Dover favourite Doug Gore, who has been keeping a keen eye on the standings, is quick to remind everyone that he has been undefeated at the track for the past two years.

"This year has been a good one for me. I am now in the process of advertising the Audi TT for sale overseas, with the hope of getting something brand new for racing next year. Also, the Mitsubishi Evolution 10 will be converted for rally purposes next year. I will be doing rallying and circuit racing," said Gore.

Top 10 drivers

  • 1st Andre Anthony Anderson (Modified Production 3) - 94 points
  • 2nd Kyle Gregg (Modified Production 2) - 80 points
  • 3rd David Summerbell (Modified Production 4) - 76 points
  • 4th Kishmore Williams (Modified Production 1) - 72 points
  • 5th Sebastien Rae (Bracket 29) - 68 points
  • 6th Dean Shaw (Modified Production 1) - 68 points
  • 7th Kirk Diaz (Bracket 35) - 66 points
  • 8th Cecil Munroe (Bracket 39) - 66 points
  • 9th Vivian Mitchell (Thundersport 1) - 62 points
  • 10th Robin Sutherland (Bracket 39) - 61 points