Wed | Mar 21, 2018

14 races for Independence of Speed

Published:Sunday | August 7, 2016 | 12:00 AM
David Summerbell leads Doug Gore (second) and Kyle Gregg in the Thundersport II race at the Carnival of Speed race meet, held on Easter Monday at the Dover Raceway, St Ann.
William Myers
Fraser McConnell

This year's annual Independence race meet at the Dover Raceway, St Ann, takes place today, after yesterday's technical inspection.

The day starts at 8 a.m. with a warm-up session, and the last event on track is race three in the Modified Production and Thundersport class over six laps, starting at 3:40 p.m. The race duration is 20 minutes, and the track action is slated for a 4:05 p.m. end. Qualifying for all cars begins at 9:35 a.m. and lasts for almost an hour.

Among the drivers battling for points, which could change the standings in the races for various titles, are 2015 champion Fraser McConnell; perennial Dover fan favourites Doug ' Hollywod' Gore; David Summerbell; Kyle Gregg (who will be in his new car, the Radical, with adjustments made to suit the Dover track); relative Dover newcomer William Myers; Brian Shor; and Nicholas Barnes.

The motorcycles will be in action from the beginning until almost the end of Independence of Speed. Six motorcycle exhibition events are scheduled for throughout the day. The bracket and improved production class is first up on track at 10:30 a.m., beginning a cycle of races that continues with bracket 45, then modified production and Thundersport.

Gregg, Gore, and Summerbell are big guns in the top-tier Thundersport category.