Wed | Nov 25, 2020

Nominations for the 69th Emmy Awards are out

Published:Thursday | July 13, 2017 | 12:00 AM
Anthony Hopkins
Alec Baldwin

Saturday Night Live (SNL) and Westworld lead the Emmy nominations with an impressive 22 nods.

The 42-year-old comedy sketch show is in the running for a host of honours at this year's ceremony, including Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy for Alec Baldwin, thanks to his portrayal of President Donald Trump, while Melissa McCarthy - who generated headlines for her impersonation of White House press secretary Sean Spicer - is up for Guest Actress in a Comedy.

Meanwhile, HBO's Westworld is in the running for the Outstanding Drama Series prize, along with four other new shows, Stranger Things, The Handmaid's Tale, The Crown and This Is Us, as well as returning nominees House of Cards and Better Call Saul.

The fantasy drama also scored nods for stars Evan Rachel Wood and Sir Anthony Hopkins in the Outstanding Lead Actress and Actor in a Drama Series categories.

Following behind SNL and Westworld in the nomination stakes are Stranger Things and Feud: Better and Joan with 18 nods, with Veep close behind with 17.




The Outstanding Comedy Series category will see last year's winner, Veep, vying against Blackish, Atlanta, Master of None, Silicon Valley, Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt and Modern Family to retain its crown, while Outstanding Limited Series sees The Night Of, Big Little Lies, Fargo, Feud: Better and Joan, and Genius on the shortlist.

HBO leads the networks with a total of 110 nominations, with Netflix close behind with 91.

Game of Thrones - which has scooped the Outstanding Drama Series Emmy for the last two years - was ineligible for any nominations because of its later start date this year, while Orphan Black actress Tatiana Maslany will be unable to defend her Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series crown for the same reason.

The Emmy Awards will take place at the Microsoft Theatre in Los Angeles on September 17.

Stephen Colbert will host this year's ceremony, and the awards show will be broadcast by CBS.