Tue | May 26, 2020

Chris Blackwell receives JHTA Lifetime Achievement Award - Several others recognised at 58th annual general meeting

Published:Wednesday | July 10, 2019 | 12:18 AM

Celebrated music ­producer Chris Blackwell, has received the Association’s ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’.

Blackwell shared the spotlight with Kingston-based hotelier Christopher Jarrett, Island Route’s and Sandals Resorts International’s Wayne Cummings. Courtleigh Hotel Group’s Nicola Madden-Greig, Joy Spence, Appleton Rum Experience and Caribbean Producers Jamaica received special awards at the organisation’s 58th annual general meeting and awards luncheon at the Hilton Rosehall on Saturday, June 29 2019.

The stalwarts were among a select group of ‘stars” honoured by the JHTA for excellence in their various spheres.

Blackwell, who began ­promoting Jamaican music in the 1950’s was lauded for helping to launch performers like Bob Marley and the Wailers, Toots and The Maytals, Jimmy Cliff and others “into the realm of international fame”.

He entered the hotel industry in the early ’90s, creating Island Outpost – a group of intimate luxury hotels, including Strawberry Hill, Kingston; Caves, Negril, and Golden Eye.

Also collecting awards for ­exceptional service at the JHTA event were Lisa Blair, Safety & Security Officer, Hilton Rosehall Resort & Spa – Hotel Employee of the Year; Reggae Girlz – The Abe Issa Award; Conroy Thompson, training manager, Half Moon Hotel – Hotel Manager/Supervisor of the Year; Paul Andrew Norman, sales & marketing manager of Dolphin Cove – Tourism Employee of the Year; Nardia Angus, pool beach server, Golden Eye – Outstanding Service to Tourism; Clifford Bent, property manager, Trench Town Culture Yard – Special Award – Unofficial Ambassador of Tourism; Caribbean Airlines – International Airline of the Year; The Rosehall Great House Tour – Allied Member of the Year; Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club – Environmental Sustainability Award; Chukka Good Hope – Attraction of the Year; Tourwise Ltd – Local Transportation Provider of the Year Award; Amstar – Destination Management Company of the Year; Perry’s Manufacturing Co Ltd, – Purveyor of the Year Award’.