Sun | Nov 18, 2018

KD Knight, Flo O'Connor among OJs

Published:Wednesday | August 6, 2014 | 12:00 AM
Charles Dufour

POLITICIAN AND legal luminary Keith Desmond Knight, veteran human rights activist Flo O'Connor, and six other distinguished Jamaicans are to be bestowed with the nation's fourth highest honour, the Order of Jamaica (OJ).

The OJ will also be awarded to Bishop Charles Henry Dufour, for distinguished contribution to religion and community development; Professor Joseph Frederick, for distinguished service to the Faculty of Medical Sciences, University of the West Indies and the University Hospital; and Glen Mills, for outstanding contribution to track and field through coaching of Jamaican athletes, including the world's fastest man, Usain Bolt.

Other persons to receive the OJ are Dr Karl Everald Wellington, for exceptional and exemplary service to agriculture - in particular animal genetics; an honorary award to Sir Fitzroy (Roy) Augier, professor emeritus in history at the University of the West Indies (UWI), for over 50 years of distinguished service to academia, in particular Caribbean history; and Dennis Vernon Daly, QC, will be awarded posthumously for his contribution to law and human rights advocacy.


When contacted for a comment, Knight said he accepted the award with humility.

"When an honour is conferred on one, it is really a signal that more is expected from that person and the recipient must himself take the position that he or she has to work harder to show that it was deserved."

O'Connor, who headed the Jamaica Council for Human Rights, will receive the OJ for distinguished contribution to human rights advocacy.

Three active politicians will be presented with the Order of Distinction in the rank of Commander. They are Senator Navel Clarke, for more than 20 years of distinguished service to Parliament and the trade union movement; Horace Dalley and Rudyard Spencer, for more than 20 years of distinguished service to Parliament.

Four senior journalists will receive the Order of Distinction in the rank of Officer for outstanding and invaluable contribution to journalism in Jamaica. They include former Gleaner Editor-in-Chief Wyvolyn Gager, Franklin McKnight, Owen James, and Desmond Allen.

One hundred and eighty-nine Jamaicans will receive national honours and awards at a ceremony to be held at King's House in October.