Sun | Jan 20, 2019

UTech, Jamaica Council Honours Outgoing Members, Welcomes New Members

Published:Saturday | March 5, 2016 | 12:00 AM

The Council of the University of Technology, Jamaica (UTech, Jamaica) led by Chairman and Chancellor, the Most Hon. Edward Seaga, ON, PC on Monday, February 29, 2016, hosted a reception in honour of members who served during the last tenure of the Council which ended on January 31 this year.

The courtyard of the newly built UTech, Jamaica hotel (School of Hospitality and Tourism Management building) provided a welcoming and fitting backdrop for the evening’s reception, where several members of Council were recognised for their sterling service to the work of the University’s Council during the period November 1, 2012 to January 31, 2016.

Chancellor, the Most Hon. Edward Seaga, ON, PC in expressing appreciation, said that “it was thought prudent to formally recognise the contribution of the Council members of the last tenure of the Council, a period which has been quite demanding as the institution considered several matters related to corporate governance, financial management and procurement.” He pointed out that “the period had required significant dedication from the membership to facilitate 47 meetings in contrast to the 22 which had been held in the previous tenure, 2009 – 2012.” 

The Chancellor announced and welcomed six new members of Council.  They are Ambassador Audrey Marks – chancellor’s nominee, founder of  Paymaster Jamaica Ltd., and former ambassador to the United States; Richard Murray – private sector nominee and representative from the Jamaica Bankers' Association; Linval Freeman, co-opted member, Partner, Ernst and Young who previously served in the capacity of co-opted member of the audit committee. The other members are Noel Whyte, professional bodies' nominee of the Jamaica Institute of Engineers and managing director of the consulting engineering firm, N.O. Whyte and Associates Limited; Philmore McCarty, principal of the Association of Caribbean Tertiary Institutions and principal of Excelsior Community College and Corrine Richards, Council for Community Colleges nominee and principal of Portmore HEART Academy.