Tue | Jan 15, 2019

RJRGLEANER dominates PAJ awards

Published:Monday | December 4, 2017 | 12:00 AMChristopher Serju
Andrea Chisholm – Journalist of the Year.
Kalilah Reynolds – on behalf of Nationwide News Network for Investigative Journalism.
Kaneal Gayle – Reporting on Technology.
Corey Robinson – Best Feature Story (print).
Natalie Campbell – Best Radio Feature/Documentary.
Glenford Campbell – Videography.
Vashan Brown – Best Television Feature/Documentary.
Brian Walker – Best Television Feature/Documentary.
Ryon Jones – Excellence in Reporting on Health and Wellness.
Ricardo Makyn – Sports Photography.
Janella Precius – Excellence in Reporting on the Environment.
Zaheer Clarke – Best News, Sports or Current Affairs Blog.

Journalists from the RJRGLEANER Communications Group dominated the 2017 Press Association of Jamaica Awards on Saturday night, taking the top prizes of 'Journalist of the Year' and 'Young Journalist of the Year' in addition to 14 category awards.

Television Jamaica's Andrea Chisholm was named journalist of the year, while The Gleaner's Syranno Baines was declared young journalist of the year.

Chief judge Patrick Harley said this year, there was a 50 per cent increase in the number of entries in 22 categories up from 143 entries in 23 categories last year.

However, he said there were some concerns about the quality of some entries.

In reporting "some other good news", Harley noted that this year saw an increase in the number of submissions in the radio category, a year after a decrease had been cited as cause for concern in that area.

"We are not saying that we are satisfied with the number of entries, but we're encouraged that it is trending upwards again," he said.

The awards ceremony was held at the Courtleigh Theatre in New Kingston.


Category winners



Carl Wint Award for human interest feature story


Corey Robinson - The Gleaner

Andrea Chisholm - TVJ


Best Radio feature/documentary


Natalie Campbell - IRIE FM


Best TV Feature/documentary


Vashan Brown - TVJ

Brian Walker - CVM


Ken Dawson Award for videography


Glenford Campbell - TVJ


Junior Dowie Award for sports photography


Ricardo Makyn - The Gleaner


Best cover design - newspaper


Tennesia Malcolm - The Gleaner


Aston Rhoden Award for news photography


Norman Grindley - The Gleaner


Errol Harvey Award for human interest photography


Norman Grindley - The Gleaner


Morris Cargill Awards for opinion journalism


Gordon Robinson - The Gleaner


Excellence in reporting on the environment


Janella Precius - TVJ


Best news, sports or current affairs blog


Dennis Jones

Zaheer Clarke


UNICEF Award for reporting on children's rights


Giovanni Dennis - RJR


Award for excellence in reporting on health and wellness


Ryon Jones - The Gleaner


Excellence in reporting on agriculture


Christopher Serju - The Gleaner


Excellence in reporting on Technology


Kaneal Gayle - Business Access TV


President's Award for investigative journalism


Nationwide News


Hugh Crosskill/Raymond Sharpe Award for sports


Dania Bogle - The Gleaner

Jordan Forte - TVJ


Hector Bernard/Theodore Seally Award for News


Kimberley Hibbert - Observer

Giovanni Dennis - TVJ


Carlton Alexander award for business


Kalilah Reynolds - Nationwide


Young Journalist of the year


Syranno Baines - The Gleaner


Journalist of the year


Andrea Chisholm - TVJ