Sat | Jul 11, 2020

Stanberry lands top post at UWI, Mona

Published:Friday | August 16, 2019 | 12:33 AM

Another former permanent secretary has landed a big job at The University of the West Indies, which announced yesterday that former permanent secretary in the Ministry of Industry, Commerce, Agriculture and Fisheries, Dr Donovan Stanberry, is the new campus registrar for its Mona campus.

The announcement was made yesterday in an internal communiqué, a copy of which The Gleaner has obtained.

Stanberry’s appointment follows that of former permanent secretary in the Ministry of Education, Dr Maurice D. Smith, who was last week announced as the university registrar.

Stanberry replaces long-time campus registrar Dr Camille Bell-Hutchinson, who will be going off on retirement.

At The UWI, the campus registrar is the most senior administrator on the campus, serving as chief administrative officer, chief operating officer and secretary to the other four campuses of the regional institution.

Stanberry will have oversight for admissions, campus records management, examinations, human resource management, the International Students Office, marketing, recruitment and communications, Office of Graduate Studies and Research, registry information system and the secretariat.

Long public service career

Stanberry was a lecturer of mathematics at the College of Arts, Science and Technology having graduated from Moscow Agricultural Academy with a master’s Degree in Agriculture Economics in 1992.

Stanberry has had a long career in public service.

He worked at the Planning Institute of Jamaica as senior economist and head of the agriculture unit.

In 2016, Stanberry was appointed permanent secretary in the Ministry of Industry, Commerce, Agriculture and Fisheries, following on from his previous appointment as permanent secretary of the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries for the period March 2006 through to February 2016.

Prior to that, Stanberry served as permanent secretary in the Ministry of Land and Environment, chief technical director in the Ministry of Water and Housing and senior director in the Ministry of Public Utilities and Transport.