Tue | Aug 14, 2018

Education Ministry signs MOU with three St Thomas schools

Published:Friday | September 5, 2014 | 9:20 AM
Ronald Thwaites – File

The Education Ministry yesterday signed an agreement with three St Thomas high schools which is aimed at improving education outcomes and student achievement at the three institutions.

The schools involved are the Paul Bogle, Robert Lightbourne and Seaforth high schools.

The Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) addresses issues including student placement and transfers, development and implementation of remediation programmes, staff development and sharing of best practices.

Under the agreement, teachers will be expected to share in instructional duties across campuses.

The three schools will also cooperate in mobilising parental support, improving student behavior, and accessing funding and other resources.

Education Minister Ronald Thwaites, says this model of school management will be replicated elsewhere with the aim of improving educational outcomes and student achievement.

Meanwhile, he says the Ministry would provide Seaforth High with $6 million to assist in expanding the number of classrooms, which will result in the elimination of the shift system during this school year.

WATCH: The Gleaner Minute

Follow us on Twitter:


Follow us on Instagram:


Watch our videos on YouTube:

Jamaica Gleaner

Email us: onlinefeedback@gleanerjm.com