Fri | Sep 21, 2018

Munro to induct five more in Hall of Fame. Inductees confirmed for Munro College Hall of Fame 2014

Published:Wednesday | October 15, 2014 | 12:00 AM
Alfred Sangster
Cecil Lloyd Allen
Hugh Hart
William McConnell
Rev. William Simms Contributed Photos

The five latest inductees to the Munro College Old Boys' Association (MCOBA) Hall of Fame have been chosen by the Hall of Fame Selection Committee led by MCOBA president, Arthur Williams. They are the late Rev William Simms, headmaster of Munro College from 1875 to 1883; Cecil Lloyd 'C Lloyd' Allen, who died on January 14, 2014; Hugh Hart, OJ; Alfred Sangster, OJ; and William McConnell, OJ. The Induction Ceremony and Banquet will take place at the Mona Visitors' Lodge, University of the West Indies, Mona Campus, on Friday October 17, commencing with cocktails at 6 p.m.

Rev Simms is regarded as a paradigm-changing headmaster for broadening the curriculum of Potsdam School, as Munro was first known, and introducing fee-paying students to make Potsdam School financially viable after its endowment had been cannibalised and reduced substantially from what the school's founders had originally left for the institution. C. Lloyd Allen dedicated his life to the development of Munro, and was instrumental in completing the school's auditorium, installing a windmill, and several other school projects. He is also recognised for his service to sports development in Jamaica, particularly boxing and tennis.


Hart, founding partner of Hart, Muirhead, Fatta, is recognised for his service and achievements in the fields of law, government, the bauxite industry, and business. He was a senator from 1980 to 1993, minister of mining and energy from 1983 to 1989, and also minister of tourism from 1984 to 1989. Sangster is well known for his leadership of the then-College of Arts, Science, and Technology, now University of Technology, and for his involvement in many areas of national life, including work with Citizens Action for Free and Fair Elections. McConnell is recognised for his service to industry and export as head of J. Wray and Nephew Limited and later Lascelles de Mercado and Co Limited. For some 25 years, he has been an executive member of the Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica, and is a member of its Hall of Fame.

The inaugural 2012 inductees were former headmaster Richard Roper, beloved late vice-principal Stephen Harle, coffee magnate John O. 'Jackie' Minott, and athlete Lloyd Lindbergh 'Lindy' Delapenha. The 'magnificent seven' of 2013 were the late founders Robert Hugh Munro and Dr Caleb Dickenson; former Prime Minister, the late Sir Donald Sangster, ON; National Poet Laureate Professor Mervyn Morris, OM; noted academic Professor Owen Morgan, OJ; Montego Bay business leader Antony 'Tony' Hart; and former board chairman, the late Laurie Sharp.

Tickets are available at the MCOBA Secretariat, 15 Braemar Avenue.