Wed | Oct 17, 2018

Five more for Munro College Hall of Fame

Published:Friday | October 24, 2014 | 12:00 AM
Arthur Williams (left), president, Munro College Old Boys Association; Tony Hart (centre), collecting the citation on behalf of Hugh Hart; and Kenry Jackson (right), first vice-president of the association, assisting in the presentation.
Arthur Williams (left), president, Munro College Old Boys' Association; William McConnell (centre), inductee; and Floyd Green (right), president G2K and Munro old boy, assist in the presentation. photos by Winston Sill/Freelance Photographer
Dr Alfred Sangster (left) and William McConnell, two of the inductees into the Munro College Old Boys' Association Hall of Fame.

Five stalwarts were inducted into the Munro College Old Boys' Association Hall of Fame on Friday, October 17, at the Mona Visitors' Lodge, University of the West Indies, Mona.

They are the late Reverend William Simms, headmaster of Munro College from 1875 to 1883; Cecil Lloyd 'C Lloyd' Allen, who died on January 14; The Honourable Hugh Hart, OJ; the Honourable Alfred Sangster, OJ; and the Honourable William McConnell, OJ.

These five men now join the inaugural 2012 inductees: legendary former headmaster Richard Roper, beloved late vice-principal Stephen Harle, coffee magnate John O. 'Jackie' Minott, and legendary superathlete Lloyd Lindbergh 'Lindy' Delapenha.

They also join the 'magnificent 7' of 2013, the late Robert Hugh Munro and Dr Caleb Dickenson, founders of the school; former prime minister, the late Sir Donald Sangster, ON; National Poet Laureate Professor the Honourable Mervyn Morris, OM; noted academic Professor the Honourable Owen Morgan, OJ; Montego Bay business leader Antony 'Tony' Hart; and former board chairman, the late Laurie Sharp.