Wed | Oct 17, 2018

Trelawny honours its heroes

Published:Saturday | November 1, 2014 | 12:00 AM
Some of the Trelawny Heroes Day awardees. - Photo by Richard Morais

Richard Morais, Gleaner Writer

FALMOUTH, Trelawny:Similar to the National Heroes Day awards, a large number of persons were awarded in Trelawny at the Falmouth Town Hall on Heroes Day.

Some 19 persons were awarded in the field of community service, education, health services, and sports. They were divided into two categories: the parish awardees and the mayor's awardees. The parish recipients are Marjorie McLean, Violet Reid, Rev Junior Rutty, Gerald Simpson and David Wint for community service. In education, they are: Sylvia Barnett, Hazel Facey, Morris Stewart and Ismay Wilmot. Miss Joan Bailey and Chester were awarded for health services and sports.

The mayor's recipients are Basil Bryan, Reuben Gordon, Donis Howard, Cynthia McDonald, Owen Reid and Ancel Rodney for community service. Theresa Edwards and Boen Thompson received for education.

The event was planned for outdoor, just in front of the courthouse, but had to be shifted inside the building after the rains came. While this shift caused a later start and prevented the march past the parade of uniformed groups, a popular feature, it did not dampen the spirit of the occasion as many attended to see their friends and relatives being awarded.


The brilliance of our youngsters was highlighted when they read the citations to the heroes. They all hailed from primary schools within the parish: PaulCha-Ki Graham of Rio Bueno Primary; Kadia Jackson and Antonique Williamson of Salt Marsh Primary; Brytasna Patrick of Wakefield Primary; Chadwick Palmer of Falmouth All-Age, along with Ashanti Green of Bounty Hall Primary.

Custos Rotulorum Paul Muschett read the governor general's message while councillors Telka Holt and Collin Gager read the prime minister and leader of the opposition messages, respectively. Mayor of Falmouth Councillor Garth Wilkinson and the custos presented the awards. The event was chaired by Councillor Phillip Service.