Thu | Nov 15, 2018

Noranda Council gives community awards for distinguished service

Published:Friday | January 1, 2016 | 12:00 AM
Awardees and Noranda executives pose for a group photo. Present are (left to right, standing): Pansy Johnson, chairman, Noranda Bauxite; Norma Walters, St Ann custos; Arthur Rodgers; Michael Gabbidon; Ernest Cover; David Gordon; Maurice Bryson; Aldin Robinson; Antoine Liddell, general manager, Noranda Bauxite. Seated (left to right) Edith Earle; Inez Duncan; Barbara Hall (widow of Robin Hall); Sharon Chin-Quee (accepting on behalf of her father David Saunders); Ivett Bartley; Cynthia Watkis; and Arlene Mills.
Senior citizen Aldin Robinson at 92 years of age, gives an expressive vote-of-thanks.

The Noranda Bauxite Community Council held its annual citizenship recognition ceremony sponsored by Noranda Bauxite recently at the Port Rhoades Sports Club, Discovery Bay.

The awards were presented to 17 community residents in recognition of outstanding contributions made to community development in and around Discovery Bay in the fields of education, agriculture, religion, business, health, sports, youth and community development, and the bauxite industry. The Noranda Community Council is an organisation comprised of Noranda Bauxite employees and representatives of districts in and around Discovery Bay.

Council Chairman Kent Skyers said that each year the company and the Council seek to recognise role models who demonstrate exemplary leadership and volunteerism. Public Relations Officer Ann-Marie Scott noted that two of the awardees were senior citizens. One was Aldin Robinson, who at 92 years, was an inspiration to youth and an active deacon in his Old Folly New Testament Church. The other was Inez 'Miss Dulcie' Duncan, who is highly regarded in her Farm Town community for exemplary family values and uprightness.

Other awardees include the Rev Thomas Brady for religious leadership; Lorna Johnson, Arlene Mills and Ivett Bartley for continuing services to early childhood education; David Saunders, for lifeguard services; Ernest Cover and Maurice Bryson, community development; Cynthia 'Breezy' Watkis, for services to nursing; Arlene Mills, educator; David Gordon, for services to the postal services; Michael 'Gabby' Gabbidon, for services to commerce; Martin Hopwood for education assistance and business development; Arthur Rodgers, community and business development; and Edith 'Nana' Earle for cultural contribution.

A posthumous award was made to Robin Hall for exceptional community development and leadership.