Sat | Jun 23, 2018

BATTLE GROUND SEATS CENTRAL ST JAMES - Heroy Clarke (JLP) vs Ashley-Ann Foster (PNP)

Published:Wednesday | February 10, 2016 | 12:00 AM
Heroy Clarke
Ashley-Ann Foster



Lloyd B. Smith 5,683

Heroy Clarke 5,585

11,337 or 45.3 per cent voter turn out

Ballots rejected: 69

The People's National Party's Lloyd B. Smith became the first member of parliament for Central St James when he was elected to Parliament in the December 29, 2011 general election by a majority of 98 votes.

The seat was one of three new constituencies created ahead of the 2011 general election when the number of constituencies on the island increased from 60 to 63.

In creating Central St James, the electoral authorities, supported by the two main political parties, removed 23 polling divisions from St James East Central, 24 from St James North West, and 31 from St James West Central.

Montego Bay South was cut from North West St James; Salt Spring was removed from East Central St James; and Montego Bay South East was removed from West Central St James.

All three divisions are considered strong Jamaica Labour Party areas.

There are 28,014 persons registered to vote in the constituency, up from 24,991 in 2011.

- D. L.