Fri | Sep 21, 2018

Political Ombudsman names 33 delinquents who fail to sign political code

Published:Wednesday | February 17, 2016 | 6:31 PM
Parchment Brown: the failure to do sign the polical code of conduct raises questions as to the candidates' readiness and suitability for representational politics.

Political Ombudsman, Donna Parchment Brown, has accused 33 political candidates, including three Cabinet Ministers, of "blatantly disrespecting" her office by not signing the Political Code of Conduct.

The Ombudsman made good on her promise and today published the names of the delinquent candidates who have been nominated to run in the February 25 general elections.

Of the 152 nominated candidates, 119 candidates have signed the document.

Youth minister, Lisa Hanna; health minister, Horace Dalley and land, water, environment and climate change minister Robert Pickersgill, are the cabinet members listed among the delinquents.

Parchment Brown is encouraging the delinquents to sign the document saying their failure to do so raises questions as to their readiness and suitability for representational politics.

Lisa Hanna (PNP) - St Ann South East
Horace Dalley (PNP) - Clarendon Northern
Robert Pickersgill (PNP) St Catherine North Western
Norris Grant (PNP) - St Catherine Central
Michael Stern (JLP) - Clarendon North Western
Pearnel Charles (JLP) - Clarendon North Central
Caswell Pinnock (JLP) and Eaton Williams (NDM) - Clarendon Northern
Delano Seiveright (JLP) - St Thomas Eastern
Andrea Sutherland (JLP) - Westmoreland Eastern
Olivia Grange (JLP) - St Catherine Central
Leslie Campbell (JLP) - St Catherine North Eastern
Everald Warmington (JLP) - St Catherine South Western
Dr Christopher Tufton (JLP) - St Catherine West Central
Allando Terrelonge (JLP) - St Catherine East Central
Welton Wood (JLP) - St Catherine Southern
Horace Mathews (MGPPP) - St Andrew South Eastern
Terrence Lindo (NDM) - St Andrew North Eastern
Michael Greenland (MGPP) - St Andrew North Western
Rosemarie Campbell (NDM) - St Andrew North Western
Ansel Lee (MGPP) - Kingston Central
Arlington Seaton (MGPP) - Kingston Western
Deborah Golding (IND) - Kingston Western
Curtis Campbell (NDM) - St Catherine South Eastern
Garth Barnett (MGPP) - St Catherine North Central
Lloyd Smith (NDM) - St Catherine North Central
Gene Guthrie (IND) - St Catherine North Western
Toraino Beckford (IND) - Westmoreland Central
Joseph Hilton (MGPP) - St James Southern
Ras Astor Black (NDM) - St James Southern
Clifford Barnett (MGPP) - St James West Central
Leonard Sharpe (NDM) - Hanover Western
Graham McDonnough Jr (NDM) - St Ann South Western
Dennis Minott (IND) - Portland Eastern

*PNP - People's National Party
*JLP - Jamaica Labour Party
*IND - Independent
*NDM - National Democratic Movement
*MGPP - Marcus Garvey Political Party