Sun | Nov 18, 2018

PHOTOS: Sworn, smile, seated ... legislators take up positions in Parliament

Published:Thursday | March 10, 2016 | 4:33 PM
Government senators take their seats in Parliament.
Leader of Government Business in the Senate Kamina Johnson-Smith addresses members.
Leader of Government business in the Senate Kamina Johnson-Smith speaks with Government Senator Ruel Reid, the Minister of Education, Youth and Information.
Deputy president of the senate Aubyn Hill says thank you to his colleagues in Parliament.
First time senator Delroy Williams and former Montego Bay Mayor Charles Sinclair converse in the Senate after being sworn in.
St Catherine North East MP Dr Christopher Tufton making his way to the chamber.
Leader of Government Business in the House of Representatives Derrick Smith on his feet in Parliament.
House Speaker Pearnel Charles looks over the agenda for today's sitting of the House of Representatives.
Dr Horace Chang, the member of Parliament of St James North West looks over documents in Gordon House.
Everald Warmington takes the Oath of Allegiance in Parliament.
Finance Minister Audley Shaw listens attentively to the proceedings in the House of Representatives.
First-time MP Michael Stewart of Manchester South takes the Oath of Allegiance.
Evon Redman, MP for St Elizabeth North East is assisted by Heather Cooke, Clerk to the Houses of Parliament as he takes the Oath of Allegiance.
Prime Minister Andrew Holness addressing legislators this afternoon.
Prime Minister Andrew Holness makes an address to parliament.
Prime Minister Andrew Holness (right) exchanges words with Finance Minister Audley Shaw.
St Andrew East Central MP Dr Peter Phillips embraces his son Mikael, the MP for Manchester North West.
Dr Andrew Wheatley (left) MP for St Catherine South Central and St Elizabeth North West MP JC Hutchinson.
Ruddy Spencer, the Clarendon South East MP and Marlene Malahoo Forte the MP for St James Central during the sitting.

Nineteen of the 21 Senators and 61 of the 63 Members of Parliament today took their seats in the Houses of Parliament.

Government Senator Don Wehby and Opposition Senator Noel Sloley were not present.

The ailing St Andrew South MP Dr Omar Davies and the St James South MP Derrick Kellier were the absentees in the House of Representatives.

Kellier is attending a magisterial recount now underway in his constituency.

The Gleaner's team of photographers was at Gordon House.