Thu | Aug 16, 2018

New NHF board named

Published:Wednesday | April 6, 2016 | 5:22 PM
Businessman Christopher Zacca has been named chairman of the new NHF board.

The Health Ministry has announced the new members of the board of the National Health Fund (NHF).

The board was approved by the Cabinet this week.

It comprises:
Christopher Zacca (chairman) - businessman
Brian George (vice chairman) - company executive
Paul Hanworth - financial professional
Dr David Lowe - business executive
Stephen Sykes - engineer
Dr Shane Alexis - medical practitioner
Cecile Watson - banker
Lyndsey McDonnough - marketing practitioner
Everton Anderson - NHF CEO

Health Minister Dr Christopher Tufton is expected to meet with the new board soon.

A statement from his ministry says Tufton will give the charge to drive efficiencies in the costs and distribution of pharmaceuticals drugs and to review options for increasing funding to the health sector, including the feasibility of establishing a national health insurance scheme.

"I am confident that this mix of persons with their experience, who are tasked with overseeing the affairs of the NHF, will undoubtedly work together to find the best strategies and solutions to ensure that the agency is positioned in the best way possible, to achieve its objectives of serving those Jamaicans who depend on public health care for their well-being," Tufton said.