Thu | Jul 19, 2018

Dr Ken Baugh, five others conferred with Order of Jamaica

Published:Saturday | August 6, 2016 | 1:33 PM
Dr Ken Baugh

Former Deputy Prime Minister Dr Ken Baugh is among five persons who have been conferred with the Order of Jamaica.

The others are Professor Denise Eldemire-Shearer, widow of former Prime Minister Hugh Shearer; former Ambassador Anthony Johnson, Dr David Boxer; and Professor Renn Holness.

They are among the over 140 persons who have been given national honours and awards this year for their contribution to nation-building.

President of the Senate Tom Tavares-Finson heads the list of persons awarded the Order of Distinction, Commander Class.

Others include High Court judges Lennox Campbell and Carol Lawrence-Beswick, internationally acclaimed dub poet Mutabaruka, former Speaker of the House of Representatives Michael Peart, journalist and talk show host Cliff Hughes, businessman Joe Issa as well as dancehall star Shabba Ranks.

The awards are to be presented in October during the annual National Honours and Awards Ceremony at King’s House.