Fri | Jan 19, 2018

UPDATE: Confusion around Russell's omission from IAAF's entry list

Published:Monday | August 8, 2016 | 10:38 AM
Janieve Russell

Andre Lowe, Special Projects Editor - Sports

Team leader for Jamaica's track and field unit at the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Ludlow Watts could not provide any insight as to why Janieve Russell was left off the IAAF's entry list, which was published today.

Meanwhile, IAAF communication director Anna Legnani confirmed to The Gleaner that Russell is not entered in the system to compete in Rio and that the only way she can now be added, is if the JAAA made a formal written request to the JOA, who must in turn make that request to the IOC.

Watts told The Gleaner that he did not have any information at this point after the leading Jamaican was not seen among entrants for the 400m hurdles.

This after sources inside Russell's MVP Camp expressed surprise at the news, while noting that the athlete was in good shape to meet any fitness requirement and compete here in Rio.

READ: Kaliese Spencer in for 400m hurdles, Janieve Russell out

Russell, whose 53.96 is the fourth fastest time in the world this year had received a medical exemption from competing at Jamaica's Olympic Trials and was to, according to the JAAA, prove her fitness by 11:00 a.m. today.

Kaliese Spencer, who finished third at the trials and who was virtually in a straight head-to-head with Russell for the opportunity to represent the country here, is listed among the 400m hurdles entrants for Jamaica along with Ristananna Tracey and Leah Nugent.

It's not sure why Russell wasn't included as an alternate, as is the case with the women's 200m where four athletes - including Elaine Thompson, who missed that event at trials because of injury having also received a medical exemption.

Simone Facey, Veronica Campbell-Brown, Kali Davis-White and Thompson have all been entered in the event.

Also, four athletes were entered in the 100m for men including Usain Bolt - who also received a medical exemption, and the top three finishers Yohan Blake, Nickel Ashmeade and Jevaughn Minzie.