Sat | Mar 17, 2018

IAAF Award nomination a strong motivation - Elaine Thompson

Published:Friday | December 2, 2016 | 7:47 AM
Elaine Thompson in Monaco on Friday. - Photo by Philippe Fitte and Giancarlo Colombo for IAAF
Elaine Thompson

Andre Lowe, Special Projects Editor – Sports


Double Olympic sprint champion Elaine Thompson says she is honoured to have been nominated and added that winning the IAAF female Athlete of the Year (AOY) crown at tonight’s 2016 IAAF Athletics Awards at the Salle Des Etoiles would certainly add to her motivation.

Thompson, who won gold in the 100m and 200m at the Rio Olympic Games before helping Jamaica to a silver medal in the 4x100m relays, is widely tipped to win her first AOY award at tonight’s function.

A win would put her alongside Merlene Ottey (1990) and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (2013) as the only Jamaican women to have won the award.

Thompson, who this season also took home the Diamond Race trophy in the 100m is going up against Ethiopian Almaz Ayana, the Olympic 10,000m champion and world record holder and 5000m bronze medal winner, as well as Polish Olympic hammer champion Anita Wlodarczyk, who also set a record in her event this yet.

“To be nominated as Athlete of the Year is a privilege. Even being here in Monaco is also a privilege. It’s a wonderful feeling and I congratulate all the other nominees,” Thompson said earlier today.

“If I win that would be a big motivation to see that all the hard work and dedication that I put in is continuing to help me to realise my dreams and will push me to work even harder for the upcoming seasons,” added Thompson, who also shared her choices in the voting polls.“Yes I did, I voted for everyone including myself,” laughed Thompson.

Another Jamaican is up for a AOY award tonight.

Usain Bolt is looking to add a sixth award to his collection with South African Wayde van Niekerk and Great Britain’s Mo Farah also in contention. 

If both Jamaicans walk away with the top prizes tonight, it will be the second sweep for the island after Bolt, joined Fraser-Pryce on stage in 2013.

The only other award sweep took place at the very first staging in 1988 when American Carl Lewis and Florence Griffith-Joyner won the male and female awards.