Sun | Jul 22, 2018

Bolt, Thompson among RJR sports awards nominees

Published:Thursday | December 15, 2016 | 1:06 PM
Usain Bolt

Andre Lowe, Special Projects Editor - Sports

As expected, multiple Olympic gold medal winners Usain Bolt and Elaine Thompson were today listed among nominees for the 2016 RJR Sports Foundation National Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year awards.

At a televised media launch at the Jamaica Pegasus hotel, the pair were named among the island's top sporting performers for the year, with five of the eight nominees representing track and field.

Bolt, a six-time winner of the award, is joined by Olympic 110m hurdles gold medal winner Omar McLeod and West Indies cricketer Marlon Samuels as nominees for the Sportsman of the Year award.

The sprinter's three gold medals at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games (100m, 200m and 4x100m) make him the overwhelming favourite for record seventh hold on the award, which would make him joint with boxer Michael McCallum as the most successful male winners.

IN PHOTO: Thompson

Thompson is looking for her first Sportswoman of the Year nod after a impressive season that included Olympic gold in the 100m and 200m as well as silver in the 4x100m.

Other Sportswoman of the Year nominees are 2014 winner Alia Atkinson, who won three medals at the Short Course (SC) Worlds and broke the 50m breaststroke SC world record; cricketer Stafanie Taylor and Olympic medalists Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce and Shericka Jackson who won bronze in the 100m and 400m respectively.

Bahamas' 200m Olympic gold medal winner Pauline Davis-Thompson will be the special guest at the event.

Other awards to be presented include the People's Choice, Chairman's Award, Lifetime Achievement awards and for the first time, the VMBS Youth Award. 

The final cut-off date for possible additions to the list of nominees is December 31.

The award ceremony will take place at the Jamaica Pegasus on January 13, 2017.


(Sportsman of the Year)
Usain Bolt
Marlon Samuels
Omar McLeod

(Sportswoman of the Year)
Stafanie Taylor
Elaine Thompson
Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce
Alia Atkinson
Shericka Jackson