Sun | Jan 21, 2018

Professor Anthony Clayton appointed chairman of Broadcasting Commission

Published:Friday | January 6, 2017 | 12:00 AM

Professor Anthony Clayton has been appointed the new chairman of the Broadcasting Commission with effect from November 1, 2016.

Clayton served on the previous Commission which ended its term in office on October 31 last year.

Clayton is the Alcan Professor of Caribbean Sustainable Development in the Institute for Sustainable Development, University of the West Indies.

He is a noted policy expert and has written policy documents for a number of governments on issues that include planning and regulation, national security, crime and policing, urban development, economic development and climate change adaptation. He has also written policy papers for a number of intergovernmental agencies, including the Organization of American States, the European Commission, the United Nations Industrial Development Organization, the World Bank, the United Nations Environment Agency, the Commonwealth Science Council, the Inter-American Network of Academies of Science, and the Inter-Governmental Panel on Climate Change, and he has served as the lead policy advisor for two world summits.

His breadth of commitments is reflected in the number of honorary positions that he holds.

In addition to his post as the professor of Caribbean Sustainable Development at the University of the West Indies, he is also visiting professor at the Centre for Environmental Strategy at the University of Surrey, visiting professor at the Institute for Studies of Science, Technology and Innovation at the University of Edinburgh, adjunct distinguished professor of Sustainable Development at the University of Technology, a fellow of the Caribbean Academy of Science and a fellow of the World Academy of Sciences, among others.

Clayton is joined by two other re-appointed commissioners - Dr Elaine Wallace and Nerine Small.

The newly appointed commissioners are Dr William Lawrence, Patricia Sinclair McCalla; Dr Lloyd Waller, Aldrick 'Allie' McNab, and Dr Anna Kasafi Perkins.

Commissioners are appointed by the governor general after consultation with the prime minister and leader of the opposition. They serve for a term of five years.

Commenting on Clayton's appointment, executive director of the Broadcasting Commission, Cordel Green, described him as "exceptionally able, multi-talented, judicious, forward thinking and a highly respected Jamaican and international academic".




He said Clayton assumes the chairmanship of the Broadcasting Commission at a time when communications industries are being profoundly disrupted by rapid technological change, requiring different and more innovative approaches to regulation.

Clayton said yesterday that one of the key challenges facing Jamaica now is to develop more efficient regulatory systems that can protect the interests of the consumer and the nation while encouraging competition, technological innovation and the creation of wealth.

The Broadcasting Commission regulates Jamaica's electronic media sector, advises Government on media policy, and facilitates investments in the sector. In the process, it seeks to balance the interests of citizens, vulnerable audiences, media operators, advertisers and the creative community.