Mon | Oct 15, 2018

#ByElections2017: Voting under way in three constituencies

Published:Monday | October 30, 2017 | 7:46 AM
Early voters at the Bromley Primary School in Lewistore, St Mary - Ian Allen photo

Voters in three constituencies have started to cast their ballots to elect new parliamentary representatives.

The People's National Party (PNP) which had control of all three constituencies before the by-election announcement is expected to be the clear winner in corporate area constituencies.

However, the battle is on in the rural constituency.

St Andrew South
Mark Golding (PNP)
Dane Dennis

St Andrew South West
Angela Brown Burke
Victor Hyde

St Mary South East
Dr Shane Alexis (PNP)
Dr Norman Dunn (JLP)

Voting began at 7 o'clock this morning and should end at 5 o'clock this afternoon.

St Mary South East was previously held by the PNP's Dr Winston Green.

The governing JLP has claimed that its candidate is the favourite to win based on internal party polls.

However, the PNP, while not releasing the findings of its poll, says it is confident it will retain the seat.

We want to hear from you! Email us at or