Tue | Aug 4, 2020

St Ann to honour 20 JPs

Published:Thursday | October 25, 2018 | 12:00 AM

For the second consecutive year, the St Ann Justices of the Peace Association will honour 20 justices of the peace (JP) for long and meritorious service to their fellow citizens at its annual awards ceremony, which will take the form of a brunch at the Cardiff Hotel and Spa on Saturday.

The association, which has had a distinguished history for the last 35 years, provides a structure to consolidate resources for mentorship, training and development, and service delivery.

JPs who are community leaders facilitate the impact of excellence by ensuring their own integrity, and the authenticity of documents, even as they preside as lay magistrates and restorative justice facilitators, among other duties and outreach programmes.

Among some of the well-known JPs to be honoured are Dr Horace Betton, Radcliffe O. Walters, Richard Donaldson, R. 'Jim' Lakhwani, James Walsh, Gwendolyn Hamilton, Norma E. Walters, and Cynthia Cunningham.