Fri | Jan 22, 2021

Johnston returned as president

Published:Tuesday | December 17, 2019 | 12:00 AM
Immediate past president of the Shipping Association of Jamaica Denise Lyn Fatt congratulates Charles Johnston who has just been voted in for another year as president.

The Shipping Association of Jamaica (SAJ) members voted in Charles Johnston for another year as president. The election took place during the annual general meeting held at the association’s Fourth Ave offices last Friday.

Johnston is the executive chairman of Jamaica Fruit & Shipping Company and its subsidiaries and is also chairman of the Jamaica Producers Group, and a member of the board of directors of Kingston Wharves Limited. The election also returned Grantley Stephenson to the post of vice-president. In January, Stephenson will step down as the chief executive officer of Kingston Wharves Limited and assume the post of deputy chairman of the company.

Also returning to the SAJ’s managing committee are Denise Lyn Fatt, the immediate past president, who holds the historic distinction of having been the SAJ’s first female president. She is the managing director of Freight Handlers Limited. Michael Bernard, managing director of Shipping Services Stevedoring Limited, returns to the position of honorary member. Harriat Maragh, chairman and chief executive officer (CEO) of Lannaman and Morris Shipping Limited, returns as honorary member.

In addition to those named above, returning are Kim Clarke, managing director of Maritime and Transport Group of Companies; William A. Brown, managing director of the Lannaman & Morris (Shipping) Group of Companies; Robert Kinlocke, chairman of Gateway Shipping Group; Roger Hinds, managing director of Mediterranean Shipping Company Jamaica Limited; Corah Ann Robertson-Sylvester, chief executive officer, Seaboard Jamaica Limited; André Rochester, freight manager at Maritime and Transport Services Limited; and Mark Williams CEO- elect of Kingston Wharves Limited. The SAJ’s CEO, Trevor Riley, is an ex-officio member of the Managing Committee.