Sat | Aug 18, 2018

Waterhouse hunt win against Panama's Tauro

Published:Wednesday | August 27, 2014 | 12:00 AM

Marc Stamp, Gleaner Writer

Waterhouse FC will hunt a win against Tauro FC of Panama in order to maintain a chance of advancing to the next stage in the CONCACAF Club Championship.

Both teams are scheduled to battle at the National Stadium tomorrow, starting at 8 p.m.

Having defeated Tauro 1-0 in the first round earlier this month in Panama, the Waterhouse team then lost 1-0 to DC United in Washington a week ago. With three points on the board from two games, Waterhouse are chasing victory as a loss could see their chances fading.

The 'Firehouse' crew is aware of the situation and is determined to stay in the league that has brought additional exposure to their players.

"It is a three-point game for us. We will certainly come out to win in order to stay in contention for qualification to the next stage," Waterhouse FC manager Keith Sailsman told The Gleaner yesterday.

"We played them in Panama and they are a good team. We respect them but should have scored more goals in that game as we got chances to do so," he pointed out.

"The team is focused, prepared, and raring to go. We are confident," Sailsman added.

support the team

With an entry fee of $500 for the grandstand section, Sailsman is urging football lovers to support the Drewsland-based outfit.

"Jamaica should turn out to support us as we are the only club representing Jamaica in the CONCACAF Club Championship. We are imploring spectators to come out and support the team," he emphasised.

With Waterhouse participating in the regional tournament, eyes are on the players.

"We are on the world stage and a lot of persons are watching. Since the first game, we have gotten calls from clubs in the United States, as well as Europe," the Waterhouse manager disclosed.

Among the talents at Waterhouse are former national representatives Nicholy Finlayson, Richard McCallum, Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson, Evan Taylor, Kenardo Forbes, in addition to Romario 'Rum Rum' Campbell, Hughan Gray, new signee Upstan Edwards, Juvaune Benjamin, Kenroy Howell, and others.