Thu | Oct 18, 2018

Kaliese Spencer shortlisted for top IAAF Award

Published:Friday | October 3, 2014 | 6:22 AM

Andre Lowe, Senior Staff Reporter

KINGSTON, Jamaica:

Hurdler Kaliese Spencer is the only Jamaican shortlisted for this year's IAAF World Athlete of the Year Awards, after a successful season for the MVP Track Club star.

No Jamaican was among the 10 Male Athlete of the Year candidates which were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, including representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF.

However, with a 400m silver medal at the IAAF World Indoor Championships, gold in the 400m hurdles at the Commonwealth Games and the IAAF Continental Cup, as well another dominant display on the circuit where she claimed overall victory in the IAAF Diamond Race, Spencer was as expected, listed among the 10 shortlisted for the Female Athlete of the Year.

An email poll involving the World Athletics Family begins today and will close on Thursday 16 October. At the conclusion of the voting process, three male and three female finalists will be selected and announced by the IAAF.

The Council of the International Athletics Foundation will then select the male and female winners, with the announcement taking place live on stage during the 2014 World Athletics Gala on Friday 21 November 2014.

Spencer is looking to become only the third Jamaican to win the Female Athlete of the Year award after Merlene Ottey in 1990 and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce last year.

Fraser-Pryce and compatriot Usain Bolt swept the awards last year, becoming only the third pair from the same country and first from Jamaica to win both the female and male awards in the same year.

This year's nominees are:


Nigel Amos (BOT), Mutaz Essa Barshim (QAT), Jairus Kipchoge Birech (KEN), Bogdan Bondarenko (UKR), Yohann Diniz (FRA), Justin Gatlin (USA), Robert Harting (GER), Dennis Kipruto Kimetto (KEN), Renaud Lavillenie (FRA), LaShawn Merritt (USA).


Valerie Adams (NZL), Genzebe Dibaba (ETH), Dawn Harper Nelson (USA), Caterine Ibarguen (COL), Francena McCorory (USA), Sandra Perkovic (CRO), Dafne Schippers (NED), Kaliese Spencer (JAM), Barbora Spotakova (CZE), Anita Wlodarczyk (POL).


Follow us on Twitter:


Follow us on Instagram:


Watch our videos on YouTube:

Jamaica Gleaner

Email us: