Mon | Aug 20, 2018

Kaliese carries the flag

Published:Saturday | October 4, 2014 | 12:00 AM
Kaliese Spencer ... the lone Jamaican nominated for the IAAF World Athlete of the Year Awards.-file

Andre Lowe

Hurdler Kaliese Spencer is the lone Jamaican listed among 10 male and 10 female nominees for the IAAF World Athlete of the Year Awards.

Sprinting heavyweight Usain Bolt, who claimed the last three World Athlete of the Year awards, was unsurprisingly left out of the list of nominees for only the second time since 2008, breaking his record spell of five awards in the last six years.

This year's selections were yesterday confirmed by the IAAF, after submissions by an international panel of athletics experts, including representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF.

The selection process moved into the second phase yesterday with the commencement of an email poll involving the World Athletics Family, which consist of selected international athletics journalists, IAAF Council members, member federations, IAAF Commission members, meet promoters, IAAF partners, athletes representatives and IAAF ambassadors.

vote tally

Votes will be accepted until Thursday, October 16, after which the IAAF will announce the top three male and three female finalists. The Council of the International Athletics Foundation will then select the male and female winners, with the announcement taking place live onstage during the 2014 World Athletics Gala on Friday, November 21, 2014.

Only two Jamaican women have won the IAAF's top award - Merlene Ottey in 1990 and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, who won last year - ensuring that Jamaica became only the third country to have both the male and female winners in the same year, with Bolt's triumph.

Spencer this year confirmed her stranglehold on the major circuit, becoming the most dominant female in the history of the Diamond League with 18 wins in the series - six of those coming this season, handing her yet another Diamond Race title.

The athlete also struck gold at the Commonwealth Games, took the Continental Cup title and also won silver in the 400m at the World Indoor Championships. She won 10 of her eleven 400m hurdles races this season.

Pole vault world record holder Renaud Lavillenie, sprinter Justin Gatlin and high jump hotshots Mutaz Essa Barshim and Bogdan Bondarenko are among the male nominees.


MEN: Nigel Amos (Botswana), Mutaz Essa Barshim (Qatar), Jairus Kipchoge Birech (Kenya), Bogdan Bondarenko (Ukraine), Yohann Diniz (France), Justin Gatlin (USA), Robert Harting (Germany), Dennis Kipruto Kimetto (Kenya), Renaud Lavillenie (France), LaShawn Merritt (USA).

WOMEN: Valerie Adams (New Zealand), Genzebe Dibaba (Ethiopia), Dawn Harper Nelson (USA), Caterine Ibarguen (Colombia), Francena McCorory (USA), Sandra Perkovic (Croatia), Dafne Schippers (Netherlands), Kaliese Spencer (Jamaica), Barbora Spotakova (Czech Republic), Anita Wlodarczyk (Poland).