Sat | Dec 7, 2019

WI players for SA T20

Published:Tuesday | October 28, 2014 | 12:00 AM

South Africa (CMC):

Four of the players who controversially quit the recent one-day tour of India have signed contracts to play in South Africa's Ram Slam Twenty20 League. One-day captain Dwayne Bravo, Windies T20 skipper Darren Sammy, along with Kieron Pollard and AndrĂˆ Russell have all been announced by Cricket South Africa to play in the tournament, which bowls off next Sunday and finishes on December 12.

International T20 star Chris Gayle, who did not tour India because of injury, has also signed up to represent the Lions franchise.

best T20 players

"I am delighted to announce that our franchises have recruited some of the world's best T20 players," said tournament director Graeme Smith. "In my discussions with all the super stars, it has been satisfying to note their eagerness to play in the Ram Slam as they regard South Africa as one of the best cricket leagues in the world."

Bravo will turn out for Dolphins; Sammy will play for the Titans; Pollard will suit up for Cape Cobras; while Russell will be on the Knights' roster.

Bravo was at the centre of the recent imbroglio leading the West Indies players fight with their union, WIPA, over the new terms and conditions of the collective bargaining agreement.