Sun | Nov 18, 2018

All sign SA contracts, except Bravo

Published:Wednesday | November 19, 2014 | 12:00 AM
file Darren Bravo ... asked not to be considered

ST JOHN'S, Antigua (CMC):

Fourteen of the 15 players offered match/tour contracts for the upcoming tour of South Africa have signed and returned the contracts, West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) confirmed late yesterday.

However, a WICB statement says Darren Bravo has written to the chairman of selectors, Clive Lloyd, requesting not to be considered for the Test series because of personal reasons.

A replacement for Bravo is expected to be named soon.

"The WICB extends its best wishes to Bravo as he seeks to address his personal matters and looks forward to his return to the game," the WICB statement said, without elaborating.

The players were required to respond to the WICB by 5 p.m. East-Caribbean time yesterday.

"The WICB thanks the players for their timely and positive responses and looks forward to a successful tour of South Africa," the statement added.

West Indies and South Africa will play three Test matches, three T20 internationals and five one-day international matches, starting next month and running until the end of January.

SQUAD: Denesh Ramdin (captain), Sulieman Benn, Jermaine Blackwood, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sheldon Cottrell, Shannon Gabriel, Christopher Gayle, Jason Holder, Leon Johnson, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton.