Wed | Sep 19, 2018


Published:Saturday | January 3, 2015 | 12:00 AM
Coordinator for the Central Manchester Sports Development Committee, Trishanna Archer (centre, left) presents the champions trophy to members of the Porus football team who recently won the Peter Bunting-sponsored Community Football League with a 4-0 win over Hanbury. - Photo by Richard Bryan
Rachael Chin-Yee (left) presents the Sweet Ruckus trophy to Wilbert Bagwandeen, the owner of LADY SANGEETA, at Caymanas Park last Saturday. Looking on from left are Michael Graham, Derrick Campbell, Jason Mykoo and David Townsend. LADY SANGEETA won the days co-feature, a graded stakes event for two-year-olds. - Jermaine Barnaby/Photographer

Alligator Pond lead Manchester Major League

The 2013 champions, Alligator Pond, are the early leaders in the new season of the Manchester Football Association Major League after being the first team to record two straight wins.

Alligator Pond, despite romping to a 3-0 half-time lead, had to fend off Porus 3-2 in their game at Kirkvine last Sunday. They had started the season with a 2-1 win over Villa United.

Defending champions New Green secured their first win of the season, defeating Villa 2-0. Veteran striker Norman Wright scored both goals, netting in the 43rd and 89th minutes.

Meanwhile, Mile Gully and Downs, who both began the season with wins, were beaten in their respective second-round games by teams which had also lost. Mile Gully were beaten 2-1 by Ricam Academy, while Oral Johnsons 85th-minute goal set up a 1-0 win for Comfort over Downs.

Kirkvine Athletic meet confirmed

Pat Anderson, chairman of the organising committee of the Puma/JAAA Kirkvine Athletic meet, confirmed that the meet will go ahead as planned on Saturday, January 17, at Kirkvine Sports Club.

The key events hosted will be 100 metres in all categories, 200m, 400m and 800m. The meet will open with a 5000 metres for men and 3000 for females. The one-day event is open to all schools, clubs and private competitors.

Institutions and interested athletes can secure their registration through Wayne Laing, who can be reached at 805-6999.

MRPC to host Spray as You May

The Mandeville-based Manchester Rifle and Pistol Club (MRPC) will host the first event of the 2015 practical shooting calendar on Sunday, January 11, in Lincoln.

The event is titled Spray as You May Part 1, whose focus will be on speed and will feature all wide open targets. This means there will be no steel targets and no penalty ones. The round count will be 130.

Organisers say the event will also be geared as early preparation for shooters desirous of contesting the annual Florida Open, which normally attracts the widest participation of Jamaican shooters.

Brown wins Old Harbour 5K

Kirk Brown was a minute better than his nearest rival Leon Cameron, as he clocked 15 minutes and 39 seconds to win the Old Harbour Invitational 5K last Sunday.

Manchester-based Shawn Pitter was third in 16:32, with Deandre Heath and Rushane Khouri rounding out the top five. Veteran Andrew Gutzmore, sponsored by Seek Exercise Book, was eighth in 18 seconds flat.

Clifton Pusey of Happy Grove High was the best-placed schoolboy team, taking ninth in a creditable 18:18 ahead of Royale Gordon of Greater Portmore High, who was 11th in 18:2 seconds. Lacardo Daley, listed as representing Runaway Bay All-Age, was 23rd in 20:13.

Juliet Dinnal of Northern Caribbean University was the best-placed female, clocking 20:18 for 25th spot. Chris-Ann Lewis, sponsored by Seek Exercise Book, copped second in the female category, placing 27th in 20:37.

Gunners outshoot Exceptional for title

Young Gunners, through goals from Oshane Smith and Darren Grant, outshot Exceptional Strikers 2-1 to lift the Rumbar Rum Football Sundayz Championship trophy in a match fitting to be a final, at Coal Ground Spanish Town last Sunday. Dwayne Hunt of D&P Fabrication & Maintenance won the Golden Boot award with six goals.

PFL mid-season final tomorrow

Cedar Grove and Hellshire United will contest the Portmore Division Two Football League mid-season final tomorrow following contrasting results in last Sundays round of matches. The final will be played at Cedar Grove playing field, match time 3 p.m.

In last week's games, Hellshire United defeated Westport 1-0 to join Cedar Grove at the top with 10 points apiece as the latter were held 0-0 by Greater Portmore. In other results, Braeton United tagged Racing 2-0 and Daytona thumped Bridgeport 4-1.

Portmore Domino Major League returns today

A full slate of matches will be played tomorrow as the Jamaica Domino Federation Portmore Domino Major League returns after the Christmas break.

Domino kingpins Caribbean Classic knock cards against Colours Sports Club in one of the feature games of the nine matches, at Portmore Avenue. In other games, Correctional Services welcome Kens Wildflower at Spanish Town Prison Oval; Passagefort United host Garveymeade at Myrtle Way, Old Passagefort; newcomers Spyt Fire face off against Memory Lane at home; Masterpiece square off with Chedwin Strikers; Eradication welcome Naggos Head at their Gregory Park base; multiple champions Fort International entertain Exceptional International, along Passagefort Drive; Felluchi Strikers take on Spring Village, and Eagle View are at home against Cookies International.

Portmore Football League pays tribute to sponsors

When the York Pharmacy-sponsored Portmore Division Two Football League kicks off on Sunday, January 11, it will give Leander Marshall, president for 30-odd years, a chance to say thanks to all the companies, organisations and persons that have sponsored both of the league and knockout competitions for more than 40 years.

The knockout will feature a uniform parade and two matches. In the opener at 1 p.m., Daytona take on Hellshire United, while at 3 p.m., Braeton United play Racing United.

Sponsors over the years include York Pharmacy, West Indies Home Contractors (WIHCON), Kingsley Sangsters, J. Wray & Nephew Ltd, Colgate Palmolive, Mutual Security Bank, Excel Auto Supplies, Shell Company, former Members of Parliament Dr Paul Robertson, Carl Rattray, Sharon Haye-Webster, Senator Arthur Williams, Members of Parliament Fitz Jackson and Colin Fagan, and Genus Pharmacy and E-Services.