Wed | Jan 16, 2019

Bangladesh name 15-man WC squad

Published:Monday | January 5, 2015 | 12:00 AM

DHAKA, Bangladesh (AP):

Bangladesh named a 15-member squad for this year's cricket World Cup yesterday, leaving out experienced left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak.

The Bangladesh selection panel, led by Faruque Ahmed, included Soumya Sarkar, Taijul Islam and Sabbir Rahman, who all made their debuts in the series against Zimbabwe in November and December.

Pace spearhead Mashrafe Bin Mortaza missed the last World Cup due to injury, but this time will lead the side. All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan will act as his deputy.

Just five players - Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, and Rubel Hossain - survived from the 2011 World Cup squad.

top World Cup

wicket taker

Razzak, with 20 wickets to his name over the past two tournaments, remains Bangladesh's top World Cup wicket taker. He also has taken 207 ODI wickets for Bangladesh.

Bangladesh has been drawn in Pool A, along with Afghanistan, hosts Australia and New Zealand, England, Scotland, and Sri Lanka.

It will open the tournament against Afghanistan on February 18 at Canberra.

Squad: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Captain), Shakib Al Hasan (Vice Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Mominul Hoque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Shabbir Rahaman, Soumya Sarkar, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Al Amin Hossain, Taijul Islam, Arafat Sunny.