Tue | Sep 25, 2018

Pollard, Bravo out of World Cup squad

Published:Sunday | January 11, 2015 | 12:00 AM

ST JOHN'S, Antigua (CMC):
Experienced campaigners Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard are set to miss out on the ICC World Cup, after being excluded from the 15-man squad announced yesterday.

The side will be led by Jason Holder, who was named as skipper for the five-match series against South Africa bowling off later this month.

He will have as his deputy, Marlon Samuels, with embattled off-spinner Sunil Narine, former skipper Darren Sammy and Darren Bravo all included.

Dinanath Ramnarine, the former CEO of the West Indies Players Association (WIPA) had posted on his Twitter page Thursday that he has confirmed that both players have been left off the squad.

Bravo, the former captain of the One Day International team, was the central figure when the players pulled out of the West Indies tour of India in October 2014.

The move angered the Board of Control for Cricket in India, (BCCI) that has since demanded approximately US$41 million from the West Indies Cricket Board for revenue lost because of the abandonment of the tour.

Bravo and Pollard are currently playing in Australia's Big Bash League.

SQUAD - Jason Holder (captain), Marlon Samuels (vice-captain), Sulieman Benn, Darren Bravo, Jonathan Carter, Sheldon Cottrell, Christopher Gayle, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith, Jerome Taylor.