Wed | Jan 23, 2019

2014's top performers will be named soon

Published:Friday | January 23, 2015 | 12:01 AM

Voting for the 2014 Horse of the Year and other awards not determined by statistics is being conducted by the 15-member Horse of the Year Committee comprising representatives of the media and officials of Caymanas Track Limited.

Balloting closes on Wednesday, January 28.

Members of the reactivated committee will vote for Horse of the Year, first runner-up, second runner-up, champion local bred, champion foreign bred, champion two-year-old, champion three-year-old, champion sprinter, champion stayer, champion middle distance performer, most improved jockey and most improved trainer.

Nominees for most improved jockey are top apprentice O'Brien White (45 wins as against 6 in 2013), Robert Halledeen (32 wins as against two in 2013, Jevanne Erwin (29 as against 16 in 2013) and the claiming apprentice Orlando Foster (28 wins as against nine in 2013).

Nominations for most improved trainer are two former winners, Ryan Darby (35 wins) and Lawrence Freemantle (22 wins), along with Robert Pearson (11) and Michael McIntosh (10).

The Spencer Chung-trained TYPE-WRITER is fancied to win the Horse of The Year award by virtue of his impressive runaway victory in the November 8 Post to Post Superstakes over 2000 metres, ahead of COMMANDING CHIEF and Harry Jackson Memorial Cup, Chairman's Trophy and Governor General's Stakes winner PERFECT NEIGHBOUR; while the Ian Parsard-trained POTCHEEN looks a cinch for champion sprinter, having won the Caribbean Sprint Championship and Gold Cup towards the end of the season.

The Anthony Nunes-trained ALACRANN, winner of the $4.25 million Supreme Ventures Jamaica 2-Y-O Stakes over a mile on Boxing Day, will be a unanimous choice for champion two-year-old, while stable-companion RELAMPAGO looks a cinch for champion three-year-old, having won both the derby and St Leger.

- O.C.