Wed | Aug 15, 2018

Umpiring error at World Cup

Published:Saturday | February 14, 2015 | 10:12 PM

MELBOURNE, Australia (AP) - England's James Taylor was stranded two runs short of a century against Australia at the World Cup yesterday due to an umpiring decision that the International Cricket Council later deemed to be incorrect.

Australia was credited with a win by 111 runs after the match ended in bizarre circumstances when Taylor, on 98, was adjudged leg before wicket (lbw) by umpire Aleem Dar but had the decision overturned on review by the TV umpire.

Within the same incident, the Australians also appealed for a run out against Jimmy Anderson at the other end, and replays showed the No. 11 was indeed short of his ground. On-field umpires Dar and Kumar Dharmasena then ruled that Anderson was out - and the match over - despite protests from Taylor, who suggested it should have been a dead-ball situation as soon as the initial lbw decision was made.

Chasing Australia's 342-9, England was all out for 231 in the 42nd over.

The ICC issued a clarification more than an hour after the match, saying it had reviewed the decision on the run out and agreed it should have been a dead ball under the circumstances.