Tue | Oct 23, 2018

Urban schools in big showdown

Published:Thursday | February 19, 2015 | 12:00 AMRaymond Graham
Calabar's Michael O'Hara winning his heat of the boys' 100m at the Camperdown Classic.
Twayne Crooks from Kingston College winning his heat in the Class One 800 at the Corporate Area Pure Water Jamaica College Invitational Track Meet.

Athletes from the Corporate Area chasing a place in next month's Digicel Grand Prix final will continue their battle today at the Anthrick Corporate Area Track and Field Championships at the National Stadium, beginning at 8:30 a.m.

The meet is the third and final for urban area High Schools in the Digicel Grand Prix Athletics Championship following the Youngster Goldsmith and Camperdown Classic. The top four athletes from the seven Grand Prix events will qualify for the GC Foster Classics finale, where they will challenge the top two from the Central and Western Championships. Prizes are on offer for the top schools and individuals.

The Grand Prix events are 100 metres, 200m, 400m, 800m, discus, long jump and 4x400m relay

No athlete can compete in two individual events, and only two athletes from one school can qualify for the final of the same event.

The top male and female schools will receive $1 million worth of gym equipment, while the top three in each category will receive cash prizes.

Calabar High duo Michael O'Hara (10.33 seconds) and Julanie Walker (10.56) lead the boys' Under 19 100m, with Jamaica College's (JC) Devaughn Baker third after a best of 10.60 seconds.

Kingston College's (KC) Twayne Crooks, following his 46.92 seconds win in the Class One 400m at the Youngster Goldsmith meet, leads the Under 19 field. Baker (47.86), of JC, is second, while Delon Caudwell (48.06) of St Andrew Technical High School is third.

Mona High's Rojaire Bingham leads the 800m and had a 1:55.4 clocking at the Camperdown Classic. Shemar Walker (1:55.57) of JC is second and Calabar's Gawaine Porter (1:55.72) third.

Calabar's Travis Riley (7.11m) and Julian walker (6.80m) are one-two in the long jump, with Camperdown High's Uriel Campbell (6.52m) third.

Calabar are also one-two in the discus, with Renaldo Hastings (50.77m) leading Andre Beckford (50.30m). Vashon McCarthy (48.28m) of JC is third.

The 200 metres will run for the first time at today's meet.

GIRLS (Under-20)


1. Toni-Ann Nelson (St. Hugh's) 12.23

2. Jeanine Williams (Immaculate) 12.25

3. Rochelle Burton (St Andrew) 12.25


1. Dawnalee Loney (Camperdown) 54.07

2. Cameka Witter (STATHS) 55.64

3. Latrice McGann (Mavis Bank) 57.97


1. Cameka Witter (STATHS) 2:14.12

2. Latrice McGann (Mavis Bank)- 2:20.27

3. Oshin Burgher (Camperdown) 2:26.60


1. Alicia Champaigne (STATHS)- 5.60m

2. Hedia Grey (STATHS) 5.30m

3. Ashley mullings (Ardenne) 5.27m


1. Venique Harris (Ardenne) 42.15m


1. Vere 3:44.90

2. St Andrew High 3:56.10

3. Camperdown 3:59.83

N.B: Top eight times from the three regions qualify in this event



1.Kiara Grant (Alpha) 12.05

2. Krissana Sang (STATHS) 12.34M

3. Shantell Forbes (Camperdown) 12.58


1. Latifa Pinnock (Wolmer's) 59.15

2. Tamara Thomas (Gaynstead) 59.87


1. Kellyann Downer (St Andrew) 2:28.78

2. Amique Willis (St Hugh's)- 2:29.21

3. Camryn McDonald (Immaculate)- 2:25.6


1. Leone Farqhuarson (Campion) 5.26m

2. Shanika Roberts (Camperdown) 5.21m

3. Lorean Murray (St Andrew) 5.16m


1. Gabrielle Bailey (St Andrew) 35.59m

2. Karayne Fray (St Andrew) 35.49m

3. Coya Christie (Wolmer's) 34.29m

BOYS (Under-17)


1. Jhevaughn Matherson (KC) 10.59

2. Tyreke Wilson (Calabar) 10.62

3. Michael Steven (Calabar) 10.78)


1. Christopher Taylor (Calabar) 46.87

2. Tyreke Bryan (KC) 50.04

3. Anthony Carpenter (Calabar) 50.39


1. Maliek Smith (JC) 1:57.79

2. Damoy Boyd (KC) 2:00.02

3. Duvaire Wauchope (JC) 2:00.06


1. Dameon Creary (Wolmer's) 7.02m

2. Chavoy Campbell (Calabar) 6.86m

3. Alex Robinson (Calabar) 6.81m


1. Rashida Downer (KC) 45.45m

2. Jovan Burke (Calabar) 42.06m

3. Khumaldi Reid (JC) 40.43m