Wed | Jan 23, 2019

Edwin's girls shine at Ben Francis meet

Published:Sunday | February 22, 2015 | 12:00 AMRaymond Graham
Olympian and Vere Technical past student Veronica Campbell-Brown (second left) was this year's honouree at the Ben Francis Invitational Track and Field meet in Clarendon. She was presented with a framed citation by (from left) Warren Blake (president, JAAA), Lileith Atkins-Bryan (past principal, Vere), Henrietta Stewart (current principal) and Sebastian Coe (vice president, IAAF).

On a day when seven-time Olympic Games medallist Veronica Campbell-Brown was honoured by her former school, Vere Technical High, Edwin Allen High sent a strong message to their rivals that come next month they will not give up the top title.

With main rivals Hydel High and St Jago High in attendance, the Michael Dyke-coached team dominated action on the track. Class One athlete Saqukine Cameron led the way with a good win in the 100 metres championships event. Cameron turned back the challenge of Vere Technical's Renae Medley to win in 12.30 seconds. Medley was second in 12.43 with St Catherine High's Carmeleta Griffiths third overall in 12.87.

Edwin Allen swept the top-three places in both the Class Four and the Class Two 100 metres. In Class Four Kevona Davis won in 13.06. Shanique Rowe (13.09) and Salieci Myles (13.27) were second and third, respectively

In Class Two it was Kasheika Cameron who triumphed in 12.73, ahead of teammates Aliyah Hopkins (12.89) and Tania Campbell, 12.91.

Hydel crashed the Edwin Allen party in Class Three as Ashanti Moore won in 12.97. Vere's T'Anna Dawkins took second in 13.00, while Hydel's Jada Martin was third in 13.22.


dominate hurdles


It was a clean sweep for Edwin Allen in the 1500 metres. Alvina Howell won Class One in 5:03.60, Asshani Robb took Class Two in 4:58.33 and Camore Donald captured Class Three in 5:08.89.

Home team Vere Technical dominated the hurdles events, winning four out of five with their best coming in the Class Three 80 metres. Roxanne Foster won in 12.23, ahead of teammates Codesha Lewis (12.24) and Britney Anderson (12.37).

Among the boys, St Jago High won two championship events. The Class One sprint relay team, anchored by Ivan Henry, won in 42.86 seconds. Earlier, Nathan Allen won the Class One 400m in 49.58 ahead of Henry (49.93).