Tue | Aug 14, 2018

Jaguars maul Jamaica Franchise in WICB PCL

Published:Monday | March 9, 2015 | 12:00 AM


Left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul finished with a 10-wicket match haul as Guyana Jaguars continued their imperious march through the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Professional Cricket League (PCL) with a resounding five-wicket win over Jamaica Franchise yesterday.

Chasing a moderate 161 for victory, Guyana eased to their target late on the third day of the eighth-round fixture, to complete their fifth straight win of the tournament.

Captain Leon Johnson stroked 58 and Vishaul Singh, 57, while Chris Barnwell finished on 21 not out.

bundled out for 138

Permaul had earlier claimed five for 33 as Jamaica, starting the day on 22 for one, were bundled out for 138 at the National Stadium here.

He was supported by leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo, who picked up four for 22 to end with an eight-wicket match haul.

Permaul finished with match figures of 10 for 110.

Not for the first time this season, Jamaica's batting struggled, and only Test batsman Jermaine Blackwood, with a top score of 47, and opener John Campbell, with 28, showed any enterprise.

They put on 77 for the second wicket to lift Jamaica to 78 for one at one stage, but once they were separated, the last nine wickets crashed for 50 runs.

Blackwood's innings was a breezy one, requiring just 57 balls, including five fours and a six, while Campbell struck four fours off 53 balls in 79 minutes at the crease.

victory target

In pursuit of their victory target, Guyana slipped to 42 for three after fast bowler Jason Dawes, who finished with three for 24, made two early strikes.

However, Johnson and Vishaul Singh stroked half-centuries in a crucial 89-run, fourth-wicket stand which put Guyana on the brink of victory.

Johnson hit five fours off 95 balls in 160 minutes at the crease, while Vishaul faced 147 deliveries in 158 minutes and counted six fours.

By the time Dawes returned to claim Vishaul to a catch at the wicket at 131 for four, Jaguars already had victory well within their grasp.

Barbados Pride win

Meanwhile, Barbados Pride kept up the pressure on leaders Guyana Jaguars when they crushed bottom-of-the-table Leeward Islands Hurricanes by nine wickets inside three days here yesterday, courtesy of a 13-wicket haul from left-arm spinner Jomel Warrican.

Resuming their eighth-round contest on 268 for six, Barbados were bowled out for 353 in their first innings, with Shane Dowrich striking his third first-class century with 106.

With a lead of 138, Barbados ripped through the Leewards' second innings, reducing them to 22 for four at one stage, before dismissing them for 150. Warrican was the main destroyer with five for 50, to follow up his first innings haul of eight for 88. He finished with a match haul of 13 wickets for 138 runs.

Set a meagre 13 runs for victory, the visitors lost Kyle Corbin lbw to seamer Quinton Boatswain for five, before securing victory an hour after tea at Warner Park.


JAMAICA 1st Innings 258

GUYANA 1st innings 236

JAMAICA 2nd Innings

(overnight 22 for one)

S Thomas lbw b Barnwell 0

J Campbell c Beaton b Permaul 28

J Blackwood st Bramble b Permaul 47

*+T Lambert lbw b Permaul 18

C Walton c wkp Bramble b Bishoo 8

B King c wkp Bramble b Permaul 0

D Bernard Jr c Johnson b Bishoo 18

D Jacobs c Johnson b Permaul 0

J Dawes c (sub) T Griffith b Bishoo 7

O Brown not out 4

M Mindley c wkp Bramble b Bishoo 4

Extras: (lb4) 4

Total: (all out, 40.5 overs) 138

Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-78, 3-89, 4-98, 5-98, 6-118, 7-119, 8-123, 9-132, 10-138.

Bowling: Beaton 8-1-36-0, Barnwell 5-1-25-1, Permaul 17-4-33-5, Bishoo 6.5-0-22-4, Deonarine 4-0-18-0.

GUYANA 2nd Innings (target: 161 runs)

R Chandrika lbw b Dawes 15

A Fudadin b Dawes 2

*L Johnson c Mindley b Brown 58

S Chanderpaul c Campbell b Jacobs 4

V Singh c wkp Walton b Dawes 57

C Barnwell not out 21

+A Bramble not out 0

Extras: (lb6) 6

Total: (5 wkts, 55.4 overs) 163

Fall of wickets: 1-14, 2-31, 3-42, 4-131, 5-157.

Bowling: Bernard 6-0-19-0, Dawes 10-2-24-3, Jacobs 12-2-38-1, Brown 19.4-2-54-1, Lambert 1-0-6-0, Mindley 2-0-8-0, Campbell 5-1-8-0.

Result: Guyana Jaguars won by five wickets.

Man-of-the-Match: Veerasammy Permaul.

Umpires: Nandkumar Shivsankar, Leslie Reifer.