Sat | Sep 22, 2018

Tough Gold Cup group awaits Ja

Published:Friday | March 13, 2015 | 12:00 AM


Caribbean champions Jamaica will play in a tough Group B in this year's edition of the CONCACAF Gold Cup which runs from July 7-26, involving 12 teams from the region.

The Reggae Boyz will come up against World Cup quarter-finalists Costa Rica, El Salvador and Canada.

CONCACAF yesterday announced the complete groups and match schedule for the biennial championship for national teams in the North, Central American and Caribbean region.

Two former Caribbean champions Trinidad and Tobago and Cuba are featured in Group C, headlined by six-time Gold Cup champions Mexico and Guatemala.

The 2015 Gold Cup opens at Toyota Stadium, home of FC Dallas, on Tuesday, July 7 with a Group A doubleheader as the defending tournament champions USA host the winner of the March playoff between Honduras and French Guiana following the match-up between Panama and Haiti.

The quarter-finals and semi-finals will all take place on the East Coast.

Baltimore (M&T Bank Stadium, July 18) and New York (MetLife Stadium, July 19) will split the four quarterfinal matches, while Atlanta's Georgia Dome will host both semis in a July 22 doubleheader.

Philadelphia's Lincoln Financial Field has been selected to host the Gold Cup final on July 26.

GROUP A: USA, Panama, Haiti, Honduras or French Guiana

GROUP B: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Canada, Jamaica

GROUP C: Mexico, Guatemala, Trinidad & Tobago, Cuba

July 8, 2015 (StubHub Center - Carson, CA)

8 p.m: Group B: Costa Rica vs Jamaica

July 11, 2015 (Compass Stadium - Houston, TX)

6:30 p.m: Group B: Jamaica vs Canada

July 14, 2015 (BMO Field - Toronto, Canada)

6 p.m: Group B: Jamaica vs El Salvador

Quarterfinals: July 18 and 19.

Semi-finals: July 22, 2015

3rd place match: July 25, 2015

Finals: July 26, 2015 (Lincoln Field - Philadelphia)

7:30 p.m: Championship final