Tue | Oct 16, 2018

Jamaica confident of making beach soccer playoffs

Published:Wednesday | March 25, 2015 | 12:00 AMMarc Stamp

Head coach of Jamaica's Beach Soccer team that will participate in the CONCACAF Championship, Andrew Price, is optimistic the side will advance to the playoff stage for a spot in the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup in Portugal in July.

The 12-man Jamaica team will depart the island tomorrow morning for El Salvador, where 16 nations will vie for the regional title, as well as the right to be CONCACAF representative at the World Cup.

The championship will start on March 28 and end April 4.

"We are optimistic, expecting the team to advance from the group stage and take it from there," Price told The Gleaner yesterday.

"The team has been preparing for the past six weeks at Port Royal and training intensified in the last two weeks. We have experienced players who have participated in two regional championships, so we are confident," shared Price, who is also coach of Boys' Town.

Jamaica will participate in Group A alongside hosts El Salvador, Puerto Rico and Belize. Mexico head Group B that also includes Trinidad and Tobago, Guadeloupe and Turks and Caicos Islands. The Group C teams are the United States of America, Bahamas, Barbados and Antigua & Barbuda. Group D includes Costa Rica, Guatemala, Panama and US Virgin Islands.

After the group stage, the top two teams from each group will reach the quarter-final round on April 2. The following day will see two placement matches, in addition to two semi-finals - to be disputed among quarter-final winners - which will determine the finalists, as well as the two FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup berths from the region.

The final match of the 2015 CONCACAF Beach Soccer Championship will be on April 4, with three placement matches followed by the grand final.

The full squad is: Elvis Hart (Catherine Hall FC), Kirk Porter (Boys' Town), Daemion Benjamin (Boys' Town), Gerald Neil (Black Star FC), Gregory Simpson (Black Star), Derrick Planter (Rivoli United), Ryan Powell (Black Lion FC), Rohan Reid (Tivoli Gardens), Andre Reid (Meadforest), Jermain Anderson (Waterhouse FC), Phillip Peddie (Maverley/Hughenden FC) and Kevin Wilson (Arnett Gardens FC).