Tue | Sep 25, 2018

Record runs for UTech's Simmonds, Levy

Published:Sunday | April 12, 2015 | 12:00 AMRaymond Graham
Megan Simmonds of the University of Technology winning the women's 100 metres hurdles in a record 13.08 seconds at yesterday's UTech Classic at the National Stadium.

Sprint hurdlers Megan Simmonds and Ronald Levy, both of the University of Technology (UTech), won the women's and men's sprint hurdles in record times at yesterday's UTech Classic at the National Stadium.

Simmonds clocked 13.08 seconds in the 100 metres hurdles to erase the 13.15 set by Shermaine Williams in 2012. Her teammate Chrisdale McCarthy was second in 13.42 seconds, while Immaculate High's Jeanine Williams took third in 13.92.

In the men's 110m hurdles, Ronald Levy won in 13.63 seconds. Levy was away quickly and, in the process, erased the old mark of 13.71 set by Olympian Hansel Parchment three years ago. Deuce Carter of UWI was second in 13.96 seconds, and MVP's Akeem Smith third in 14.14.

Levy was very pleased with his record run.

"I just came out to execute well and I think I did so in the end and, hopefully, I can take this good form to the Penn Relays," said Levy.

Simmonds, on the other hand, was pleased with her form.

"I am now looking forward to the National Championships," she said.

St Jago High's girls and Calabar High's boys warmed up for next week's Penn Relays with convincing wins in the sprint relays.

St Jago, minus Natalliah Whyte, easily turned back main rivals Edwin Allen to win in 44.71 seconds. The team, in running order, was Kimone Shaw, Peta Gaye Williams, Shanice Reid and Shanike English. Edwin Allen were second in 45.04 seconds with Holmwood Technical, third in 45.58.

Running without regular starter Edward Clarke, who is ineligible to compete at the Penn Relays, Xandre Blake, Michael O'Hara, Julianne Walker and Seanie Selvin were too good posting 40.42 seconds, ahead of St Georges College (40.75) and Papine High (41.75).

Sprint Tech and G.C. Foster College topped the women's and men's 4x100m Championship relays.

Yanique Thompson, Kedisha Dallas, Gayon Evans and Diana Johnson surprised UTech to take the event in 45.85 seconds ahead of UTech (46.16).

G.C. Foster's men's quartet of Colin King, Chadrick Hines, Earle Lee and Brandon Thompson won in 39.64 seconds as UTech placed second in 40.71.