Thu | Nov 15, 2018

Mandatory CONCACAF registration coming for RSPL clubs

Published:Tuesday | June 23, 2015 | 12:00 AMMarc Stamp
Andrew Price

Come the start of the 2015-16 Red Stripe Premier League (RSPL) season, all participating clubs must be properly registered to the regional body - Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF).

Clubs are expected to complete the registration process and show they are fully prepared in the areas of club finances, management, youth academies, and overall club infrastructure.

Premier League Clubs Association (PLCA) general manager, Andrew Price, says last season the 12 teams that competed in the RSPL have been involved in a pilot project and are prepared to get in line for this one.

"This registration is basically to come up to speed with CONCACAF's ruling. Just like coaches, they have to be licensed - clubs also have to be licensed. And we are starting this season with the premier league clubs as the first club to be actually licensed," Price said.

"It's something that has to be a part of CONCACAF with all its participants, and Jamaica is one of the countries that are going to fall in line this season.

And it's going to continue to the other leagues in the country as we continue to restructure our football," he added.

the way forward

Price, who is also coach of Boys' Town FC in the nation's top-flight football league, says it is the way forward.

"You have to get global licensing. We want to make sure that the clubs are properly licensed for participation in CONCACAF tournaments," he reasoned.

Harbour View FC general manager, Clyde Jureidini, is in full agreement with the move by CONCACAF.

"I agree with CONCACAF to document the structures of the clubs in the league. They will look outside of the playing field, and I think it's progressive," Jureidini stated.

The 12 clubs down to participate in the upcoming RSPL season are champions Arnett Gardens, Montego Bay United, Waterhouse, Humble Lion, Tivoli Gardens, Harbour View, Cavalier SC, Rivoli United, Boys' Town, Reno, and promoted teams Portmore United, and University of the West Indies FC.