Wed | Mar 21, 2018

Miller bags 400th first class wicket

Published:Monday | March 14, 2016 | 12:00 AM

KINGSTOWN, St Vincent (CMC):

Veteran opener Devon Smith carved out his 26th first-class hundred to keep Windward Islands Volcanoes afloat after left-arm spinner Nikita Miller grabbed his 400th first-class wicket to put Jamaica Scorpions on course for victory in their ninth-round encounter here yesterday.

At the close of the penultimate day at the Arnos Vale Stadium, Volcanoes were battling on 245 for four following on in their second innings with the left-handed Smith unbeaten on a superb 125.

He was accompanied by rookie Kavem Hodge on 27 not out, with the pair having posted 44 for the fifth wicket and eeking out a small lead of 33 for Volcanoes.

Miller picked up two for 61 to move to 401 first-class wickets in his 80th game after starting the game with 496 scalps.

He had earlier finished with three for 70 as Volcanoes, resuming their first innings on 149 for five, were dismissed for 223 on the stroke of lunch.

Leg-spinner Damion Jacobs was the main destroyer with five or 95, claiming four of the five remaining Volcanoes wickets to fall in the morning session for the addition of 74 runs.

All-rounder Kyle Mayers struck 32 off 51 balls with four fours and Hodge, 23 off 54 deliveries with three boundaries, but neither could carry on.

Forced to follow on by 212 runs, Volcanoes were propelled in their second innings by Smith, who anchored two partnerships up front. He put on 46 for the first wicket with Tyrone Theophile, who made 19, and then collaborated in a 131-run, second wicket stand with Jerlani Robinson, who hit a positive 64.

All told, Smith faced 272 deliveries in just under four and a half hours at the crease and lashed eight fours.

AT SIR VIVIAN RICHARDS CRICKET GROUND, IN NORTH SOUND, ANTIGUA: Guyana Jaguars, following on by 240 runs, were 108 for two in their second innings on the penultimate day of their ninth-round game in the Regional four-day championship at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground here yesterday.

Scores: HURRICANES 430 (Montcin Hodge 149 not out, Gavin Tonge 59, Kieran Powell 55, Daron Cruickshank 43, Keacy Carty 33, Orlando Peters 29; Chris Barnwell 2-68, Veerasammy Permaul 2-77). JAGUARS 190 (Shiv Chanderpaul 48, Rayon Reifer 45, Vishaul Singh 25; Gavin Tonge 4-37, Rahkeem Cornwall 3-59, Alzarri Joseph 2-34) and 108 for two (Leon Johnson 51 not out).

AT THE NATIONAL CRICKET CENTRE, IN COUVA, Trinidad: Trinidad and Tobago Red Force, following on by 170 runs, reached 117 for one in their second innings at the close on the penultimate day of their ninth-round clash yesterday.

Scores: PRIDE 396 (Kraigg Brathwaite 123, Kevin Stoute 66, Roston Chase 59, Shai Hope 52, Omar Phillips 49; Yannick Ottley 2-10, Rayad Emrit 2-66). RED FORCE 226 (Kyle Hope 77, Yannick Ottley 37; Kemar Roach 4-45, Jomel Warrican 3-44) and 117 for one (Kyle Hope 67 not out, Imran Khan 39).


SCORPIONS 1st Innings 445

VOLCANOES 1st Innings

(overnight 149 for five)

D Smith run out 26

T Theophile b D Thomas 16

J Robinson c McCarthy b Jacobs 31

G Pope b Miller 14

+S Ambris c D Thomas b Miller 50

K Cottoy lbw b Jacobs 8

K Hodge c Palmer b Jacobs 23

*L Sebastien c Miller b Jacobs 6

K Mayers c (sub) Brown b Jacobs 32

M Matthew not out 10

D Johnson c Blackwood b Miller 8

Extras (b6, lb1, nb2) 6

TOTAL (all out, 71.2 overs) 233

Fall of wickets: 1-43, 2-48, 3-72, 4-138, 5-146, 6-165, 7-174, 8-194, 9-215, 10-230.

Bowling: Gordon 5-0-17-0, McCarthy 8-1-25-0, D Thomas 5-1-16-1 (nb1), Miller 27.2-6-70-3, Jacobs 25-3-95-5, Campbell 1-0-3-0.

VOLCANOES 2nd Innings (following on)

D Smith not out 125

T Theophile b Campbell 19

J Robinson c Blackwood b Miller 64

G Pope lbw b Jacobs 4

+S Ambris c Blackwood b Miller 1

K Hodge not out 27

Extras (b2, lb1, nb2) 5

TOTAL (4 wkts, 87 overs) 245

Fall of wickets: 1-46, 2-177, 3-194, 4-201.

Bowling: Gordon 7-1-19-0, McCarthy 10-4-29-0, Campbell 21-2-66-1, Jacobs 20-0-67-1 (nb2), Miller 29-7-61-2.

Position: Volcanoes lead Scorpions by 33 runs.

Toss: Jamaica Scorpions.

Umpires: Deighton Butler, Gregory Brathwaite.