Thu | Jan 18, 2018

T20 World Cup quartet sidelined

Published:Thursday | May 19, 2016 | 12:00 AM

ST JOHN'S, Antigua (CMC):

Kieron Pollard's 19-month exile from West Indies' one-day side ended yesterday when he was named in a 14-man squad for next month's Tri-Nations Series, but there was no room for Twenty20 World Cup heroes Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo and Darren Sammy, as the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) held fast to its contentious eligibility rule.

The 29-year-old Pollard has not played since he, along with the rest of the one-day international (ODI) squad, controversially stormed out of the problem-plagued tour of India two years ago in a squabble with the WICB and players union, WIPA, over money.

However, he has again found favour with selectors and joins fellow Trinidadian, off-spinner Sunil Narine, who is now poised to play his first international series since he was banned last November by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for an illegal bowling action.

The WICB's eligibility that rule requires players make themselves available for the Regional Super50 series in January if they are to qualify for selection to the ODI squad, but all four players were campaigning in the Australian Big Bash League, which clashes with the domestic tournament.

Interestingly, the four players account for 610 ODIs among them.

The Tri-Nations Series runs from June 3-26 in Guyana, St Kitts and Nevis and Barbados, and involves World champions Australia and South Africa.

SQUAD: Jason Holder, Kieron Pollard, Shannon Gabriel, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Carlos Brathwaite, Sulieman Benn, Jonathan Carter, Andre Fletcher, Sunil Narine, Ashley Nurse, Denesh Ramdin, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor.