Wed | Jul 18, 2018

Newnham heads team to CAGC

Published:Wednesday | June 15, 2016 | 12:00 AM

Jonathan Newnham, winner of the 2016 Sandals Jamaica National Amateur Golf Championship, will head Jamaica's Hoerman Cup team to the 60th Caribbean Amateur Golf Championships (CAGC) to be held in Nassau, Bahamas, from July 24-30.

The team is comprised of Jamaica's best golfers who vied for and claimed their spaces after intense competition in the National Trials, held from June 2-5 at the Cinnamon Hill Golf Club.

Newnham, Ian Facey, William Knibbs, O'Shae Haye, Sean Morris and Zandre Roye are the members of the Hoerman Cup team. Haye and Roye are graduates of the Sandals Development Foundation and have represented Jamaica several times at the national junior level. Newnham, Facey and Knibbs are familiar faces, and Morris is a seasoned veteran.

The reserve is Rodean Minto.

The ladies competing for the George Teale Trophy team are Madelyn Piccininni, Jodi Barrow, Kei Harris and Tiana Cruz. This year will be Piccininni's second appearance on the Jamaican team. Barrow is a stalwart and long-time athlete, having played for Jamaica since childhood, while Harris and Cruz are experienced junior national representatives who are making their second appearance on the senior team.

Robert Chin has been appointed the team manager.