Sun | Dec 15, 2019

Quest retain Scotiabank Prep schools championship

Published:Saturday | June 25, 2016 | 12:00 AMMarc Stamp
Members of the Quest Preparatory cricket team celebrate their victory over Belair in the Scotiabank Prep Schools Cricket final at Lucas yesterday. Quest won by 50 runs to retain their title.

Quest retained the ScotiaBank Prep Schools national cricket title following a 50-run victory over Belair in the final at Lucas Oval in Kingston yesterday.

The champions batted first and amassed 116 runs off the allotted 25 overs, while Belair were bundled out for 66 in their reply.

Oshoy Jackson was the main contributor with the bat for Quest as he made 33 not out, and Kimani Maxwell added 15 runs.

In response, Belair, from the parish of Manchester, struggled throughout their innings.

Quest were winning their second title of the season as they also captured the Surrey county title. Belair had won the Middlesex crown, and St James were the Cornwall county champions.


Difficult game


Coach of the St Andrew-based Quest Preparatory, Leonard Malcolm said it was a difficult game.

"It was not easy as Belair played well. When we batted first, they took two early wickets. However, in the end, we got a challenging total and defended it well to come out victors," Malcolm told The Gleaner.

"I want to thank, first and foremost, God, ScotiaBank, the coaching staff, and supporters. We will now look forward to next season," the coach added.

Roy Peart, coach of Belair, blamed his team for losing the game. "We gave away the game. We were indisciplined in our approach and it cost us. But thanks to the players, sponsor and the entire Belair family," Peart said.

Shelly Sykes-Coley, Scotia-Bank sponsorship manager said her organisation would continue to contribute to the development of the game in Jamaica and the region.

"We are very pleased with the level of competition. We will continue to help in the development of cricket. The youngsters will learn a lot that will help them later in life," Sykes-Coley stated.

"We have been with the competition for the past 12 years and will continue for many years to come," she added.

The respective champions and individual awards were presented during a ceremony after the game.