Sat | Mar 24, 2018

Hyde heads World Juniors squad

Published:Friday | July 8, 2016 | 12:00 AMRaymond Graham
Jaheel Hyde
Christopher Taylor
Junelle Bromfield

DEFENDING 400 metres hurdles champion Jaheel Hyde heads the 40 athletes who will represent Jamaica at this year's IAAF World Junior Championships in Bydgoszcz, Poland, from July 19-24.

The team, which includes 22 males and 18 females, was released by the Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association (JAAA) on Wednesday night.

Hyde, who became the first Jamaican male to win a medal in the event at the World Junior Championships, will start as a big favourite to make it back-to-back titles. Hyde also qualified for the Olympic team after finishing second in the event a week ago at the National Championships. He clocked a National Junior record 48.81 seconds.

Also on the male team are World Youth 400 metres champion Christopher Taylor along with Nigel Ellis, who is ranked by the IAAF in the top 10 for both 100 and 200 metres.

Ellis' teammate at St Elizabeth Technical High, Junelle Bromfield, is the highest ranked Jamaican female going into the championships, as the 51.74 she clocked in winning the Class One 400m final at Boys and Girls' Championships in March has her at number two, while National champion Tiffany James, who defeated Bromfield at the National Championships, is ranked number five with her best of 52.06.

The Jamaica team will be hoping to better the performance of two years ago in Eugene, Oregon, where they ended with six medals, one gold, two silver and three bronze.

Members of the team are now in a training camp at several G.C. Foster College. The camp started on Monday and will end next Tuesday.

Below is the full team along with management.


Males: Sean Bailey, Timor Barrett, Akeem Bloomfield, Anthony Carpenter, Raheem Chambers, Hujaye Cornwall, Nigel Ellis, Aykeeme Francis, Fabian Hewitt, Jaheel Hyde, Sanjae Lawrence, Javier Lowe, Jhevaughn Matherson, Kevin Nedrick, Dejour Russell, Jordan Scott, Roje Stona, Christopher Taylor, Damion Thomas, Terry Thomas, Shawn D Thompson and Obrien Wasome.

Females: Junelle Bromfield, Devia Brown, Rushelle Clayton, Shellece Clarke, Nicolee Foster, Janell Fullerton, Tiffany James, Shannon Kalawan, Shanice Love, Roneisha McGregor, Patrice Moody, Jessica Noble, Veneisha Pusey, Shanice Reid, Kimone Shaw, Jeanine Williams, Stacey Williams, Shanique Wright

Officials: Ewan Scott - team leader; Tricia Gayle - team official; Leroy Cooke - team official; Lincoln Cox - team doctor; Donald Hawthorne - head coach; Michael Dyke - coach; Neil Harrison - coach; Michael Vassell - coach; Reynaldo Walcott - coach; Markland Thomas - masseur.