Thu | Mar 22, 2018

Classy Kohli punishes WI

Published:Friday | July 22, 2016 | 12:00 AM
India’s captain Virat Kohli kisses his helmet after he scored a century during day one of the first cricket Test match against West Indies at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in North Sound, Antigua, yesterday.


Captain Virat Kohli produced a sublime exhibition of batting to carve out his 12th Test hundred and first against West Indies, as India dominated the opening day of the first Test here yesterday.

The right-hander finished the day on a superb unbeaten 143 as India, opting to bat first at the Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium, closed on 302 for four.

Opener Shikhar Dhawan stroked a handsome 84, Ravi Ashwin chipped in with 22 not out, while Ajinkya Rahane also made 22, but it was Kohli who stood head and shoulders above his contemporaries with an innings of the highest class.

Relishing in an excellent batting strip, the 27-year-old carved out 16 boundaries in a knock requiring 197 deliveries.

He was the anchor of the innings, putting on 105 for the third wicket with Dhawan - the highest third-wicket partnership at the ground - before adding a further 57 for the fourth wicket with Rahane.

The last hour of the game was then dominated by Kohli and Ashwin as the pair posted 66 in an unbroken fifth-wicket stand.

Leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo was the best bowler with three for 108, with two of his wickets coming via long hops, which the batsmen failed to put away.


INDIA 1st innings

M. Vijay c K Brathwaite b Gabriel 7

S. Dhawan lbw b Bishoo 84

C. Pujara c K Brathwaite b Bishoo 16

*V. Kohli not out 143

A. Rahane c Bravo b Bishoo 22

R. Ashwin not out 22

Extras (b4, lb2, nb2) 8

Total (4 wkts, 90 overs) 302

Fall of wickets: 1-14, 2-74, 3-179, 4-236.

Bowling: Gabriel 13-4-43-1 (nb1), Holder 17-4-41-0 (nb1), C. Brathwaite 15-3-46-0, Chase 17-0-54-0, Bishoo 27-0-108-3, K. Brathwaite 1-0-4-0.


K. Brathwaite, R. Chandrika, D. Bravo, M. Samuels, J. Blackwood, R. Chase, +S. Dowrich, C. Brathwaite, *J. Holder, D. Bishoo, S. Gabriel.

Toss: India.

Umpires: Aleem Dar, I. Gould; TV - G. Brathwaite.