Wed | Jul 18, 2018

Jamaica Tallawahs thrash Guyana Amazon Warriors to win CPL title

Published:Sunday | August 7, 2016 | 10:08 PM
Andre Russell of Jamaica Tallawahs covers his face in celebration of the wicket of Nic Maddinson of Guyana Amazon Warriors during the final of the Caribbean Premier League at Warner Park in Basseterre, St Kitts - Randy Brooks/Sportsfile photo

The Jamaica Tallawahs have won their second hold on the Caribbean Premier League title after thrashing the Guyana Amazon Warriors by nine wickets at Warner Park on Sunday evening.

Set 93 for victory, the Tallawahs cruised to 95 for one in 12.5 overs.

Captain Chris Gayle led the way for the Tallawahs with a topscore of 54.

Gayle's innings included six sixes and three fours.

He put on 79 for the opening partnership with Chadwick Walton who made 25 not out.

Wicketkeeper Kumar Sangakkara also chipped in with 12 not out for the Tallawahs.

Earlier, spinner Imad Wasim picked up three wickets for 21 to help dismiss the Warriors for 93 runs in 16.1 overs.

Kesrick Williams (two for 12) and Shakib Al Hasan (two for 25) were the other leading wicket-takers for the Tallawahs.

Sohail Tanvir was the topscorer for the Warriors with 47. 

- Robert Bailey