Tue | Jan 16, 2018

I believe in my team - Schäfer

Published:Tuesday | August 30, 2016 | 12:00 AMLivingston Scott

Head coach of Jamaica's men's national senior football team, Winfred Schäfer , said the Reggae Boyz will leave the island this morning for their crucial Group B World Cup qualifier against Panama on Friday in a positive frame of mind.

The German told The Gleaner that although there are factors affecting them at present, he trusts his players to deliver the three points they need to keep their World Cup dream alive.

"I believe in my team, and I don't want to talk about the problems. I want to make my team strong. I believe in my players believe, and that is very important," said Schäfer .




"I'm a German and I never give up, and I want to make this win for the Jamaican people in Waterhouse, Trench Town, all over. These people are so beautiful and I want to make these people happy and proud," he commented.

The Reggae Boyz face a must-win in the penultimate Group B match against the host nation at the Estadio Rommel Fernandez in Panama City. The Jamaicans are currently third in the group with four points from four matches with two games to go.

Panama (seven) are three points above the Reggae Boyz, and a point from Friday's match would be enough to see them through to the next round, along with Costa Rica, who have already qualified, with 10 points from their four matches.

Schäfer  is confident that once his players turn up and apply themselves the win will be there for the taking.

"I have a good feeling (about the match). I believe in my team. I do my work and I hope, and I am sure we can win the match, what we need is discipline on the field, courage, confidence and heart.

"Panama is a very good team, but I believe my team will fight for more than 90 minutes to get the three points from this game. We have a good team and we are strong," he added.

SQUAD: Goalkeepers - Andre Blake, Ryan Thompson, Jacomena Barrett; Other players - Westley Morgan, Michael Hector, Adrian Mariappa, Lee Williamson, Clayton Donaldson, Garath McCleary, Rodolph Austin, Dever Orgill, Joel McAnuff, Jermaine Taylor, Alvas Powell, Je-Vaughn Watson, Giles Barnes, Simon Dawkins, Shaun Francis, Cory Burke, Kemar Lawrence, Michael Binns, Omar Holness, Rosario Harriott.